Council Member Appointment Process

The Minnesota Legislature has completed the statutory requirement to redraw Metropolitan Council districts. As a result of these new district boundaries, Gov. Tim Walz is responsible for appointing Metropolitan Council members.

All current Met Council members are serving at-large until the Governor makes district appointments. The Governor may consider any current Council members for reappointment and new candidates for appointment.

There are 16 Metropolitan Council districts in the seven-county Twin Cities metro region. According to statute, applicants must reside in the district for which they are seeking appointment and be knowledgeable about urban and metropolitan affairs.

To be appointed to the Met Council, individuals cannot be elected officials presently serving their community, due to the incompatibility of office doctrine established by the Minnesota courts. The individuals selected will serve through March 2027.

How to apply

The Minnesota Secretary of State is receiving applications for people interested in serving as a member of the Metropolitan Council for all 16 Metropolitan Council districts. Applications are due on Monday, June 12.