Council members & districts

Gail Dorfman

Metropolitan Council Member, District 6

Gail Dorfman was appointed to the Metropolitan Council in March 2015 by Governor Mark Dayton. She lives in St. Louis Park, and represents District 6, which includes the Hennepin County cities of Crystal, Golden Valley, New Hope and St. Louis Park, and a portion of the city of Minneapolis.

Dorfman is the Executive Director of St. Stephen’s Human Services, a nonprofit agency working to end homelessness in Minneapolis and Hennepin County. St. Stephen’s Human Services helps thousands of single adults and families secure shelter, housing and other supports each year.

On the Metropolitan Council, Dorfman serves on the Community Development and Transportation Committees.

Dorfman brings more than 30 years of public service to her role as Metropolitan Council member. Prior to joining St. Stephens Human Services, Dorfman served as a Hennepin County Commissioner from 1999-2014 and was Vice Chair of the Board in 2004-2005.

As County Commissioner, Dorfman worked closely with nonprofits, foundations, and community members to advance system reform in housing, transportation, health and other policy arenas. She led Hennepin County efforts to create county funding for affordable and supportive housing, leading to the development and preservation of more than 7,000 affordable housing units throughout the county.

In addition to her service on the Hennepin County Board, Dorfman served as the Mayor of St. Louis Park from 1995-1999 and as City Council Member-at-Large from 1991-1995. During her tenure, she led the City’s strategic planning process, “Vision St. Louis Park,” and championed housing and economic development projects citywide.

Prior to joining the Metropolitan Council, Dorfman served on the Livable Communities Advisory Committee, Transportation Advisory Board, and Counties Transit Improvement Board. She chaired several groups that informed transportation and land use decisions, including the Midtown Community Works Partnership, Hennepin County Complete Streets Task Force, Active Living Hennepin County, and the Southwest LRT Policy Advisory Committee and Community Works Steering Committee.

“Nearly 3 million people, 60% of the state’s population, live in this seven-county metro region," Dorfman said. "Smart integrated regional planning, led by the Met Council, local governments and communities, can be the great equalizer, ensuring that all residents have safe and affordable housing and transportation options. That should be our goal.”
Dorfman has a bachelor’s degree from the Ohio State University and a master’s in public administration from the John. F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. Dorfman and her husband, Alan Ackerberg, live in St. Louis Park. They have five grown children.

To contact Dorfman, phone 612.998.5214, or email