Business Item 2018-334

Update Bylaws of the Metropolitan Parks and Open Space Commission

March 18, 2019

Community Development Committee



What is the Metropolitan Parks and Open Space Commission?

- Advises the Council on matters related to the Metropolitan Regional Parks System
- Established by Minnesota Statutes
 473.303 as an agency of the Council
- Consists of nine total members: eight commissioners plus a chair, all appointed by the Council
- Nonpartisan





Responsibilities of the Commission

- Help establish and update the 2040 Regional Parks Policy Plan (Minnesota Statute 473.147)
- Review regional park and trail master plans prepared by the regional park implementing agencies, for consistency with the Regional Parks Policy Plan
- Review and approve funding to Regional Park Implementing Agencies
- Communicate and coordinate regularly with Metropolitan Council members, regional park implementing agencies and their boards, legislators, and local government officials in the district the member represents



Metropolitan Parks and Open Space Commission Bylaws

- Governs how the Commission conducts business
- Establishes roles and responsibilities of the Chair and Commission members
- Establishes expectations of the members



Tubing at Elm Creek Park Reserve



Reason for Updating Commission Bylaws

- Propose to move the regular meeting day of the Commission to the first Thursday of every month (from the first Tuesday)
 - Fewer conflicts with holidays and elections



Gale Woods Farm Special Recreation Feature



Recommendation

 Approve the updated Bylaws of the Metropolitan Parks and Open Space Commission (see Attachment 1), changing the regular meeting of the Commission to the first Thursday of each month and making other housekeeping changes.



Opportunity to appoint four new Commissioners this Spring

- Currently soliciting applications for the following Commission Districts:
 - District E: made up of Council District 9 and 10 (CM's Zeran and Lindstrom)
 - District F: made up of Council District 11 and 12 (CM's Vento and Gonzalez)
 - District G: made up of Council District 13 and 14 (CM's Lee and Fredson)
 - District H: made up of Council District 15 and 16 (CM's Sterner and Wulff)
- Commission seats remain open until filled
- Current Commissioners will serve until seats are filled



