Other Business

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of March 11, 2015

Subject: Appointments to the Land Use Advisory Committee District(s), Member(s): All Policy/Legal Reference: MN Statutes 473.127 and 473.853 Staff Prepared/Presented: Adam Duininck, Chair Division/Department: Chair's Office

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council approve the appointments of: Jon Commers – Chair, Marvin Johnson -District 1, James Saefke - District 2, Mary Hershberger Thun – District 4 (Carver County), Kathi Mocol – District 4 (Scott County), William Neuendorf – District 5, Kathi Hemken - District 6, Chip Halbach – District 8, Pamela Harris - District 10, Phillip Klein - District 11, Kristina Smitten - District 12, James McClean - District 13, Elizabeth Wefel – District 14, Elizabeth Kautz - District 15 and William Droste - District 15 to the Land Use Advisory Committee.

Background

The Land Use Advisory Committee (LUAC) was established by the Metropolitan Council pursuant to MN Statutes 473.127 and 473.853. The committee's purpose is to assist the Council in performing regional land use planning functions and undertake other responsibilities as delegated by the Council or required by law. The committee's advisory duties include giving advice and assistance regarding metropolitan land use, comprehensive planning, and matters of metropolitan significance.

The LUAC membership consists of at least 16 members plus a chair. As required by state statute, membership shall include at least one member from each Council district and provide representation from each metropolitan county. Because both Scott and Carver counties are located within Council District 4, two members are needed from the district. At least half of the members must be elected officials of local governmental units. Members serve the same period as the term of their appointed Council member.

Rationale

At Chair Duininck's request, Council Member Commers has agreed to serve as LUAC Chair. Land Use Advisory Committee terms expired in January 2015. With these appointments, the committee will have eight elected officials as members and six non-elected members. Openings still remain in Districts 3, 7, 9 and 16. There is an ongoing effort to recruit members for the remaining openings.

Funding

N/A

Known Support / Opposition N/A

