Other Business

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of: April 10, 2013

Subject: Appointments to 2040 TPP Policymaker Task Force

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: None

Staff Prepared/Presented: Susan Haigh, Chair

Division/Department: Office of the Chair

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council approves Chair Haigh's recommendation to appoint Council members Adam Duininck (Chair), Steve Elkins, Wendy Wulff, Harry Melander and Edward Reynoso to the 2040 Transportation Policy Plan Policymaker Task Force.

Background

The 2040 Transportation Policy Plan (TPP) Policymaker Task Force will provide overall policy direction to staff on the development and update of the 2040 TPP and assure its consistency and alignment with Thrive 2040. Specifically the Task Force will:

- Review the current 2030 TPP policies and strategies and identify inconsistencies or gaps with the policy direction provided by Thrive 2040,
- Review staff technical work on specific transportation projects/subjects/issues and provide policy feedback and guidance on incorporating results and recommendations into the 2040 TPP,
- Recommend transportation policy options/changes for Met Council and TAB discussion and consideration,
- Provide guidance on incorporating transportation specific goals and performance measures into the TPP, and
- Review major TPP issues and policy recommendations prior to presentation to TAB and/or the Transportation Committee.

The 10-member task force will be comprised of five Council members, three TAB members appointed by the TAB Chair, one CTIB member appointed by the CTIB Chair and one MnDOT representative.

Rationale

The 2040 TPP Policymaker Task Force will provide for a higher level of involvement in developing the TPP by key regional transportation stakeholders. This task force will facilitate broader input earlier in the TPP development process and facilitate improved outreach and communications.

Funding

No funding impacts.

Known Support / Opposition

No known opposition.