Other Business

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of: August 14, 2013

Subject: Appointment of Housing Policy Plan Work Group Co-Chair

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: Minn. Stat. § 473.127 and Bylaws of the Metropolitan Council, Art. III.C

Staff Prepared/Presented: James Lehnhoff, Planning Analyst, (651) 602-1555

Division/Department: Community Development / Regional Planning and Research

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council approve Chair Haigh's recommendation to appoint Council member Steven Chávez as co-chair of the Housing Policy Plan Work Group and reassign Roxanne Smith as a regular member.

Background

On July 10, 2013, the Metropolitan Council formed the Housing Policy Plan Work Group and appointed Roxanne Smith and Beverley Oliver Hawkins as co-chairs. With this action, Council Member Steven Chávez will assume the role of co-chair and Roxanne Smith will remain as a member.

The Housing Policy Plan Work Group's charge is to advise the Council on a Housing Policy Plan that identifies key housing issues, policies, and implementation options; aligns with Thrive MSP 2040; and, integrates with the other Council system and policy plans.

Rationale

This action retains a Council member as co-chair of the working group.

Funding

No funding impacts.

Known Support / Opposition

No known opposition.



Member	Organization
Steven T. Chávez - Co-chair	Metropolitan Council
Beverley Oliver Hawkins, Ph.D - Co-chair	Model Cities
Gina Ciganik	Aeon
Owen Duckworth	Alliance for Metropolitan Stability
James Vagle or designee	Builders Association of the Twin Cities
Bryan Schafer	City of Blaine
Jason Aarsvold	City of Brooklyn Park
Mayor Mike Maguire	City of Eagan
Mayor Debbie Goettel	City of Richfield
Cecile Bedor	City of Saint Paul
Mayor Janet Williams	City of Savage
Karl Batalden	City of Woodbury
Elizabeth Ryan	Family Housing Fund
Jacqueline King	Federal Reserve Bank
Nelima Sitati-Munene	Harrison Neighborhood Association
Roxanne Smith	Housing for All
Tim Thompson	Housing Preservation Project
Pastor Paul Slack	ISAIAH
Erik Takeshita	Local Initiatives Support Corporation
Patricia Nauman/Charlie Vander Aarde	Metro Cities
Darielle Dannen	Metropolitan Consortium of Community Developers
John Đoàn	Metropolitan Council member
Margaret Kaplan	Minnesota Housing Finance Agency
Jennifer Godinez	Minnesota Minority Education Partnership
Eric Myers/Julia Parenteau	Minnesota Association of Realtors
Jamie Thelen	Sand Companies
Cathy Bennett	Urban Land Institue Minnesota
8/8/2013	