Other Business

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of January 22, 2014

Subject: Approval of Appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board (TAB), Districts

A, B, C, D, 2 Transit, Non-Motorized Transportation

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: Minnesota Statute 473.146

Staff Prepared/Presented: Susan Haigh, Chair

Division/Department: Chair's Office

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council approve the following two-year appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board: **Gerry Butcher**, District A; **John Gunyou**, District B; **Jennifer Janovy**, District C; **Kenya McKnight**, District D; **Robert Lilligren and David Van Hattum**, Transit; and **Ethan Fawley**, Non-motorized Transportation

Background

The Transportation Advisory Board (TAB) was established by the Metropolitan Council pursuant to MN Statutes 473.146. The TAB's purpose is to advise and assist the Council, the Minnesota Dept. of Transportation, and all political subdivisions in accomplishing the responsibilities designated by state and federal law and regulation with regard to transportation planning and programming for the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

The TAB is a 33-member body composed of elected officials, representatives of government agencies involved in transportation issues, citizen members, and members who represent public transit, the freight industry and non-motorized transportation. The Metropolitan Council appoints 12 members – eight citizen members, two members representing public transit, one member representing non-motorized transportation, and one member of the Metropolitan Council. In addition, the Council is responsible for appointing the TAB chair from among the advisory body membership. TAB members serve staggered two-year terms

Rationale

Terms for the district A, B, C, D, transit (2 seats) and non-motorized transportation positions expire January 1, 2014 and need to be filled.

A news release was issued on December 6, 2013, seeking applicants for Districts A, B, C, and D, two transit seats and the non-motorized transportation seat for two-year terms.

Eleven applications were received for the seven advertised positions and all applicants were invited to interview. Council members Elkins, Duininck and Schreiber served as the interview panel and 10 applicants participated in the interviews, which were held on Monday, January 13. Following the interviews, the panel reviewed application materials, public meeting comments and input previously received from Council members. The panel consulted with Chair Haigh and their appointment recommendations are noted above. If appointed, each individual will serve two-year terms ending January 1, 2016.

Funding N/A

Known Support / Opposition N/A