### **Other Business**

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of May 14, 2014

**Subject**: Approval of Appointments to the Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee (TAAC)

Districts, B, E, F, and H

District(s), Member(s): Jennifer Munt (3), Gary Van Eyll (4), Reynoso (9), McCarthy (10), Rummel

(11), Melander (12), Chávez (15), Wulff (16)

Policy/Legal Reference: MN Statutes 473.386 and TAAC Bylaws

Staff Prepared/Presented: Sue Haigh, Chair

**Division/Department:** Chair's Office

# **Proposed Action**

That the Metropolitan Council approves the following appointments to the Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee: **Rozanne Severence**, District B; **James Williams**, District E; **Robert Platz**, District F; and **Darrell Paulsen**, District H.

# **Background**

The TAAC was created by the Legislature as a committee of users and advocates for the disability community to advise the Metropolitan Council on management policies for special transportation services.

TAAC membership includes a chair and eight citizen representatives appointed by the Metropolitan Council, two members appointed by the Minnesota State Council on Disability, two by the Minnesota Senior Federation, two by the Minnesota Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities, and one by the Minnesota Chapter of AARP. At least half the members must be ADA certified and active users of ground transportation in the metropolitan area. The chair and eight citizen members serve at the pleasure of the Metropolitan Council.

### **Rationale**

The four district positions are up for appointment due to resignations and reapportionment. Four individuals responded to the February 25, 2014 call for applications. To ensure compliance with the ADA certification membership criteria, the certification status of both the applicants and agency representatives were reviewed by Metro Mobility staff. Council members representing the district vacancies evaluated the applications and recommended appointment.

The Council is being asked to approve the appointments of District B, E, F, and H representatives as noted above.

# **Funding**

N/A

### **Known Support / Opposition**

N/A

