Other Business

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of March 11, 2015

Subject: Appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board District(s), Member(s): All Policy/Legal Reference: Minnesota Statute 473.146 Staff Prepared/Presented: Adam Duininck, Chair Division/Department: Chair's Office

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council approve the following appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board: **Anani d'Almeida** – District E; **Patricia Schwietz** – District F; **Suyapa Miranda** – District G; and **Peter Dugan** – District H; and **Jim Hovland** – TAB Chair.

Background

The Transportation Advisory Board (TAB) was established by the Metropolitan Council pursuant to MN Statutes 473.146. The TAB's purpose is to advise and assist the Council, the Minnesota Dept. of Transportation, and all political subdivisions in accomplishing the responsibilities designated by state and federal law and regulation with regard to transportation planning and programming for the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

The TAB is a 33-member body composed of elected officials, representatives of government agencies involved in transportation issues, citizen members, and members who represent public transit, the freight industry and non-motorized transportation. The Metropolitan Council appoints 12 members – eight citizen members, two members representing public transit, one member representing non-motorized transportation, and one member of the Metropolitan Council. In addition, the Council is responsible for appointing the TAB Chair from among the advisory body membership. TAB members serve staggered two-year terms.

Rationale

Terms for the District E, F, G, and H positions expired January 1, 2015. A news release was issued on January 7, 2015 seeking applicants for those four districts. Seventeen applications were received for the four positions and all applicants were invited to interview. Council members Schreiber, Elkins and Commers served as the interview panel and 15 applicants participated in the interviews which were held on Wednesday, February 25, 2015. The applicants represented a very strong, highly qualified pool of candidates. Following the interviews, the panel reviewed the application materials, interview notes and input from other Council members. The panel consulted with Chair Duininck and their appointment recommendations are noted above. If appointed, each individual will serve a two-year term ending January 1, 2017.



The TAB Chair is appointed from among the TAB membership. Edina Mayor Jim Hovland is recommended as the new TAB Chair, replacing former Woodbury Mayor Bill Hargis who did not seek reappointment to TAB. Mayor Hovland has served on TAB as a Metro Cities appointee since 2005, and has held several TAB leadership positions including TAB Vice Chair, Funding and Programming Committee Co-Chair, and TAB Bylaws Chair.

Funding

N/A

Known Support / Opposition

At the December 17, 2014 TAB meeting, the agenda was amended with an added item to recommend a TAB Chair to the Metropolitan Council. Two TAB members, Carver County Commissioner Randy Maluchnik and Transit Representative Robert Lilligren, expressed interest in being recommended. After significant discussion, including that recommending only one of them would exacerbate the current urban – suburban/rural issues, TAB approved the motion to forward both Maluchnik and Lilligren to the Council Chair.