Other Business

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of April 22, 2015

Subject: Appointment of the Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee Chair

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: Minnesota Statute 473.375 9a.

Staff Prepared/Presented: Adam Duininck, Chair

Division/Department: Chair's Office

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council approve the appointment of the following people as members of the Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee.

District A – Julianne Bina	Term Expiring January 1, 2017
District B – Christopher Bates	Term Expiring January 1, 2017
District C – Adora Sage	Term Expiring January 1, 2017
District D – Ken Rodgers	Term Expiring January 1, 2017
District E – Douglas Moody	Term Expiring January 1, 2018
District G – Jeffery Smith	Term Expiring January 1, 2018
District H – Kim Trenary	Term Expiring January 1, 2018

Background

The Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee (TAAC) was established by the Metropolitan Council pursuant to MN Statute 473.375 9a. The TAAC's purpose is to advise the Council on "the development and management of policies regarding accessibility of all aspects of fixed regular route and special transportation services for persons with disabilities." The TAAC also advises the Council "on long-range plans to meet the accessible transportation needs of the disability community." The TAAC is a 16-member board which includes people who are elderly, have a disability, use special transportation, and represent appropriate agencies for people who are elderly or have a disability. The Metropolitan Council appoints eight members and the Chair. The remaining seven members are appointed by the Minnesota State Council on Disability (2), the Minnesota Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities (2), the Metropolitan Area Agency on Aging (2), and the Minnesota state AARP office (1).

The Metropolitan Council conducted a campaign inviting participation from disability groups and Metro Mobility riders. The Council received over forty applications. Fifteen candidates were interviewed for the seven vacancies. Council members Munt, Reynoso, and Rodriguez conducted interviews on Monday, March 23, 2015.

If appointed all members in Districts A-D will serve a term ending January 1, 2017. Members in Districts E-H will serve a term expiring on January 1, 2018.

Known Support / Opposition

No known opposition.

