Other Business

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of September 23, 2015

Subject: Appointment to the Land Use Advisory Committee

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: MN Statutes 473.127 and 473.853

Staff Prepared/Presented: Adam Duininck, Chair

Division/Department: Chair's Office

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council approve the appointment of **Karl Drotning** to represent District 16 on the Land Use Advisory Committee.

Background

The Land Use Advisory Committee (LUAC) was established by the Metropolitan Council under MN Statutes 473.127 and 473.853. The committee's purpose is to assist the Council in regional land use planning and undertake other responsibilities as delegated by the Council or required by law. The committee's advisory duties include giving advice and assistance on metropolitan land use, comprehensive planning, and matters of metropolitan significance.

The LUAC membership consists of at least 16 members plus a chair. As required by state statute, membership shall include at least one member from each Council district and provide representation from each metropolitan county. Because both Scott and Carver counties are located within Council District 4, two members are needed from the district. At least half of the members must be elected officials of local governmental units. Members serve the same period as the term of their appointed Council member.

Rationale

Land Use Advisory Committee terms expired in January 2015. On March 11, 2015, the Metropolitan Council approved the appointment of 14 LUAC members and Council Member Commers as the LUAC Chair. Since March, the Council has made ongoing efforts to recruit qualified members for remaining openings, including District 16. It also sought to fill another vacancy in District 4 (Carver County) after Mary Hershberger Thun resigned in June.

On September 9, the Metropolitan Council approved the appointment of Jennifer Geisler to represent District 9. With the addition of a member to represent District 16, the committee will have nine elected officials as members and six non-elected members. Openings still remain in Districts 3, 4 (Carver County), and 7.

Funding

N/A

Known Support / Opposition

N/A

