Audit Committee

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of February 24, 2016

Subject: Approval of Audit Committee Member Karen Marquardt

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: Bylaws of the Audit Committee
Staff Prepared/Presented: Arleen Schilling (651.602.1042)
Division/Department: Program Evaluation and Audit

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council approves the appointment of Karen Marquardt, effective immediately, as a member of the Audit Committee for an unspecified term.

Overview and Funding

Bylaws of the Audit Committee, (passed by Council, September 10, 2003, 2003-233) call for 6 voting members. Three shall be Council members and three shall be external systems, management, operations or program performance.

The bylaws also provide that, when a vacancy occurs, the Audit Committee members shall be appointed by the Council Chair and approved by the full Council.

Karen Marquardt has more than 25 years accounting and Internal Audit experience. She is currently the Director of Internal Audit for Hennepin County and was previously the Controller for Hennepin County.

The Audit Committee is made up of three Council members and three external members with expertise in finance and auditing. The current Council members on the Audit Committee are: Edward Reynoso (Chair), Steven T. Chávez, and Cara Letofsky. The current external members are: Chuck Denninger, Internal Auditor for Anoka County, and Julie Kleinschmidt, Ramsey County Manager.

Recommendation

Audit Committee Chair Edward Reynoso has reviewed Karen Marquardt's qualifications and recommends her appointment. Metropolitan Council Chair Adam Duininck appoints Ms. Marquardt to the Audit Committee and requests Council concurrence.

