Other Business

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of January 11, 2016

Subject: Appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board District(s), Member(s): All Policy/Legal Reference: Minnesota Statute 473.146 Staff Prepared/Presented: Adam Duininck, Chair Division/Department: Chair's Office

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council approve the following appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board: Sam Villella – District E; Christopher Geisler – District E Alternate; Rolf Parsons – District F; Mark Wagner – District F Alternate; Carrie Christensen – District G; Conor Johnson – District G Alternate; Peter Dugan – District H; Nickolas Fox – District H Alternate; Matt Hollinshead – Transit Alternate; Matt Privratsky – Non-motorized Alternate; and Jim Hovland – TAB Chair.

Background

The Transportation Advisory Board (TAB) was established by the Metropolitan Council pursuant to MN Statutes 473.146. The TAB's purpose is to advise and assist the Council, the Minnesota Dept. of Transportation, and all political subdivisions in accomplishing the responsibilities designated by state and federal law and regulation with regard to transportation planning and programming for the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

The TAB is a 34-member body composed of elected officials, representatives of government agencies involved in transportation issues, citizen members, and members who represent public transit, the freight industry and non-motorized transportation. The Metropolitan Council appoints 12 members – eight citizen members, two members representing public transit, one member representing non-motorized transportation, and one member of the Metropolitan Council. In addition, the Council is responsible for appointing the TAB Chair from among the advisory body membership. TAB members serve staggered two-year terms.

Rationale

Terms for the District E, F, G, and H positions expired January 1, 2017. A news release was issued on November 8, 2016 seeking applicants for those four districts. Fourteen applications were received for the four positions and all applicants were invited to interview. Council members Rodriguez, Commers and McCarthy served as the interview panel and 11 applicants participated in the interviews which were held on Wednesday, December 7, 2016 and a phone interview was conducted on Monday, December 12. The applicants represented a very strong, highly qualified pool of candidates. Following the interviews, the panel reviewed the application materials, interview notes and input from other Council members. The panel consulted with Chair Duininck and their appointment recommendations are noted above. If appointed, each individual will serve a two-year term ending January 1, 2019.



TAB Bylaws state the TAB may make a recommendation for the Chair appointment. Chair Hovland has served on the TAB since 2005 and has served as Chair since 2015. No opposition expressed by TAB members and no other interest stated.

Thrive Lens Analysis

Appointing members to TAB is necessary to keep the committee functioning. TAB work advances all five Thrive Outcomes through shaping regional and state transportation plans.

Funding

N/A

Known Support / Opposition

No known opposition.