METROPOLITAN COUNCIL

390 North Robert Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-1634

Phone (651) 602-1000 • TDD (651) 602-1550 • Metro Info (651) 602-1888

RESOLUTION NO. 2017-20

RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE ACCOMPLISHMENTS OF THE COUNTIES TRANSIT IMPROVEMENT BOARD IN FUNDING REGIONAL TRANSITWAY INVESTMENTS

WHEREAS:

- 1. The Counties Transit Improvement Board (CTIB) was formed on April 1, 2008 pursuant to Minn. Statutes Section 297A.992 and Minn. Statutes Section 471.59, by joint powers agreement.
- CTIB's vision was to create a network of interconnected transitways that allows users to move
 efficiently and safely, while mitigating congestion, enhancing economic development and
 improving environmental stability for the region.
- 3. Since April 2008, the five CTIB counties of Anoka, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey and Washington utilized a quarter-cent sales tax and \$20 motor vehicle sales tax, permitted by the Legislature, to invest in and advance transit projects by awarding annual capital and operating grants.
- 4. The CTIB worked in collaboration and partnership with the Metropolitan Council to realize its vision.
- 5. The CTIB recognized that transitways require substantial capital investment and infrastructure improvements, as well as a long-term commitment to operations. To this end, since 2008 CTIB has committed \$1.3 billion in capital funding to regional transitway projects including the METRO Green Line LRT, METRO Red Line BRT, METRO Green Line Extension, METRO Blue Line Extension, METRO Orange Line and METRO Gold Line.
- 6. In addition, the CTIB committed \$214 million in operating funding to LRT, BRT, Northstar, Express bus services and to the Metropolitan Council.

NOW, THEREFORE:

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Metropolitan Council recognizes and congratulates the Counties Transit Improvement Board for their landmark accomplishments in supporting, building, and operating a regional transitway network that meets the needs of residents, businesses and visitors to the region; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Metropolitan Council is proud to have been a partner with the Counties Transit Improvement Board in leading the development, implementation and operation of light rail, commuter rail and bus rapid transitway lines for the 21st Century.

Alene Tchourumoff, Chair	Emily Getty, Recording Secretary