Other Business

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of January 24, 2018

Subject: Appointments to the Transprotation Advisory Board

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: Minnesota Statute 473.146 Staff Prepared/Presented: Alene Tchourumoff, Chair

Division/Department: Chair's office

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council approve the following appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board: **Doug Anderson**—District A, **Tim Huebsch**—District A Alternate, **Brad Tabke**—District B, **Suzanne Sandahl**—District C, **Susan Sanger**—District C Alternate, **Jamez Staples**—District D, **Erika Dani**—District D Alternate, **Matt Hollinshead**—Transit Representative, **Nick Fox**—Transit Representative Alternate, **Amity Foster**—Transit Representative, **David Van Hattum**—Transit Representative Alternate, **Ethan Fawley**—Non-Motorized Representative, **Matt Privratsky**—Non-Motorized Representative Alternate.

Background

The Transportation Advisory Board (TAB) was established by the Metropolitan Council pursuant to MN Statutes 473.146. The TAB's purpose is to advise and assist the Council, the Minnesota Dept. of Transportation, and all political subdivisions in accomplishing the responsibilities designated by state and federal law and regulation with regard to transportation planning and programming for the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

The TAB is a 34-member body composed of elected officials, representatives of government agencies involved in transportation issues, citizen members, and members who represent public transit, the freight industry and non-motorized transportation. The Metropolitan Council appoints 12 members – eight citizen members, two members representing public transit, one member representing non-motorized transportation, and one member of the Metropolitan Council. In 2016, TAB updated its bylaws to allow for district and modal representatives to have alternates, which the Council also is responsible for appointing. TAB members serve staggered two-year terms.

Rationale

Terms for the District A, B, C, D, and the three modal representative positions expired January 1, 2018. A news release was issued on October 30, 2017 seeking applicants for the fourteen positions. 31 applications were received for the fourteen positions and all applicants were invited to interview. Council Members Rodriguez, Dorfman, Letofsky, and Elkins served as the interview panel, which interviewed applicants on Monday, December 11, Tuesday, December 12 and Thursday, December 14. The applicants represented a very strong, highly qualified pool of candidates. Following the interviews, the panel reviewed the application materials, interview notes and input from other Council Members. The panel consulted with Chair Tchourumoff and their appointment recommendations are noted above. If appointed, each individual will serve a two-year term ending January 1, 2020.

Thrive Lens Analysis

Appointing members to TAB is necessary to keep the committee functioning. TAB work advances all five Thrive Outcomes through shaping regional and state transportation plans.

Funding

N/A

Known Support / Opposition

No known opposition.