Other Business

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of April 24, 2019

Subject: Appointment to the Land Use Advisory Committee

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: MN Statutes 473.127 and 473.853

Staff Prepared/Presented: Nora Slawik, Chair

Division/Department: Chair's Office

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council approve the following appointments to the Land Use Advisory Committee (LUAC):

District 1 – Jonathan Bottema - Corcoran City Council

District 3 - Mark Nelson

District 4 Scott – Kathi Mocol

District 4 Carver – Gerald Bruner - Watertown Township Supervisor

District 5 – Suado Abdi

District 6 - Kathi Hemken - Mayor of New Hope

District 7 - Courtney Schroeder

District 8 - Noah Keller

District 9 – Jennifer Geisler - Coon Rapids City Council

District 10 - Dan Roe - Mayor of Roseville

District 11 - Phillip Klein - Hugo City Council

District 12 - Steve Morris - Woodbury City Council

District 13 - Trista Matascastillo - Ramsey County Commissioner

District 14 - Mitra Jalali Nelson - Saint Paul City Council

District 15 - Vince Workman - Burnsville City Council

District 16 – Karl Drotning

Background

The Land Use Advisory Committee (LUAC) was established by the Metropolitan Council under MN Statutes 473.127 and 473.853. The committee's purpose is to assist the Council in regional land use planning and undertake other responsibilities as delegated by the Council or required by law. The committee's advisory duties include giving advice and assistance on metropolitan land use, comprehensive planning, and matters of metropolitan significance.

The LUAC membership consists of at least 16 members plus a chair. As required by state statute, membership shall include at least one member from each Council district and provide representation from each metropolitan county. Because both Scott and Carver counties are located within Council District 4, two members are needed from the district. At least half of the members must be elected officials of local governmental units. Members serve the same period as the term of their appointed Council member



Rationale

All Land Use Advisory Committee terms expired in January 2019. Since January, the Council has made ongoing efforts to recruit qualified members for all openings. The nominating committee made up of Council Member Wendy Wulff, Council Member Judy Johnson and Council Member Peter Lindstrom. This nominating committee conduct interviews of candidates on April 9th and 10th. Council Member Wendy Wulff has been appointed as the Chair of the Land Use Committee as of March 2019.

The committee will have ten elected officials as members and six non-elected members. An opening remains in District 2.

Thrive Lens Analysis

Appointing member to LUAC is necessary to keep the committee functioning. LUAC work advances all five Thrive Outcomes through shaping regional land use policy and assisting with the comprehensive planning process.

Funding

N/A

Known Support / Opposition

N/A