Other Business

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of May 8, 2019

Subject: Appointment to the Transportation Advisory Board

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: Minnesota Statute 473.146

Staff Prepared/Presented: Nora Slawik, Chair

Division/Department: Chair's Office

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council approve the following appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board (TAB):

Chair - Jim Hoyland

District B – Frank Boyles (1-year term)

District E – Christopher Geisler E Alternate – Sam Villella

District F – Mary Giuliani Stephens F Alternate – Kathleen Finnegan

District G – William Lindeke G Alternate – Scott Berger **District H** – Peter Dugan H Alternate – Rick Olson

Background

The Transportation Advisory Board (TAB) was established by the Metropolitan Council pursuant to MN Statutes 473.146. The TAB's purpose is to advise and assist the Council, the Minnesota Dept. of Transportation, and all political subdivisions in accomplishing the responsibilities designated by state and federal law and regulation with regard to transportation planning and programming for the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

The TAB is a 34-member body composed of elected officials, representatives of government agencies involved in transportation issues, citizen members, and members who represent public transit, the freight industry and non-motorized transportation. The Metropolitan Council appoints 12 members – eight citizen members, two members representing public transit, one member representing non-motorized transportation, and one member of the Metropolitan Council. In addition, the Council is responsible for appointing the TAB Chair from among the advisory body membership. TAB members serve staggered two-year terms.

Rationale

Four Transportation Advisory Board district positions (E-H) are up for appointment due to term expirations. District B has a one-year term due to a vacancy at that position. Council Member Deb Barber, Council Member Reva Chamblis, and Council Member Kris Fredson served on the nominating committee which hosted interviews on April 24. Thirty-five applications were received for the five district positions. The nominating committee reviewed the application materials, interviewee comments and other input received to develop its recommendation. The panel consulted with Chair Slawik and their appointment recommendations are noted above.

If appointed, the district E-H appointees will complete terms ending January 2021 and the district B appointee will complete a term ending in January 2020.



TAB Bylaws state the TAB may make a recommendation for the Chair appointment. Chair Hovland has served on the TAB since 2005 and has served as Chair since 2015. No opposition was expressed by TAB members and no other interest stated.

Thrive Lens Analysis

Appointing members to TAB is necessary to keep the committee functioning. TAB work advances all five Thrive Outcomes through shaping regional and state transportation plans.

Funding

N/A

Known Support / Opposition

N/A