# **Other Business**

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of May 8, 2019

Subject: Appointments to the Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: Minnesota Statute 473.375 9a.

Staff Prepared/Presented: Nora Slawik, Chair

Division/Department: Chair's Office

## **Proposed Action**

That the Metropolitan Council approve the following appointments to the Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee:

Chair – David Fenley
District A – Sam Jasmine
District B – Christopher Bates
District C – Patsy Murphy
District D – Ken Rogers
District E – Jeffrey Dains (1-year term)
District F – Darrell Paulsen (1-year term)

## Background

The Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee (TAAC) was established by the Metropolitan Council pursuant to MN Statute 473.375 9a. The TAAC's purpose is to advise the Council on "the development and management of policies regarding accessibility of all aspects of fixed regular route and special transportation services for persons with disabilities." The TAAC also advises the Council "on long-range plans to meet the accessible transportation needs of the disability community."

The TAAC is a 16-member board which includes people who are elderly, have a disability, use special transportation, and represent appropriate agencies for people who are elderly or have a disability. The Metropolitan Council appoints eight members and the Chair. The remaining seven members are appointed by the Minnesota State Council on Disability (2), the Minnesota Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities (2), the Metropolitan Area Agency on Aging (2), and the Minnesota state AARP office (1).

#### Rationale

Four Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee district positions (A-D) and Chair are up for appointment due to term expirations. The District E appointment is a one-year term due to a vacancy at that position. Council Member Deb Barber, Council Member Chai Lee, and Council Member Molly Cummings served on the nominating committee which hosted interviews on April 22 and April 30. Twenty applications were received for the six district positions. The nominating committee reviewed the application materials, interviewee comments and other input received to develop its recommendation. The panel consulted with Chair Slawik and their appointment recommendations are noted above.

If appointed, the district A-D and Chair appointees will complete terms ending January 2021 and the district E appointee will complete a term ending in January 2020.



# Thrive Lens Analysis

Appointing members to TAAC is necessary to keep the committee functioning. TAAC work advances all five Thrive Outcomes, as outlined in the examples below:

- **Stewardship** is advanced by monitoring accessibility features of the Metropolitan Council's public-transportation vehicle fleet, assuring appropriate expenditure of Council funds;
- **Prosperity** is advanced by assuring that individuals with disabilities and age-related mobility limitations can use public transit to access businesses and employment opportunities;
- **Equity** is advanced by providing people with disabilities a seat at the decision-making table around the Council's transportation planning;
- **Livability** is advanced by assuring that individuals with disabilities and age-related mobility limitations can use public transit to access services, socialize and travel in the most-integrated setting of their choosing;
- **Sustainability** is advanced by promoting shared-ride transportation solutions as opposed to single-passenger ones.

## Funding

N/A

## **Known Support / Opposition**

No known opposition