# **Other Business**

For the Metropolitan Council meeting of February 12, 2020

Subject: Appointment to the Transportation Advisory Board

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: Minnesota Statute 473.146

Staff Prepared/Presented: Charlie Zelle, Chair

Division/Department: Chair's Office

#### **Proposed Action**

That the Metropolitan Council approve the following appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board (TAB):

District A – Doug Anderson District B – Frank Boyles District C – Susan Sanger District D – Ashwat Narayanan Transit – Amity Foster Transit – Mathews Hollinshead Nonmotorized – Nickolas Fox

B Alternate – John Morast C Alternate – Andrew Lewis D Alternate – Glen Johnson Transit Alternate – Kyle Olson

Nonmotorized Alternate - Brian Martinson

# Background

The Transportation Advisory Board (TAB) was established by the Metropolitan Council pursuant to MN Statutes 473.146. The TAB's purpose is to advise and assist the Council, the Minnesota Dept. of Transportation, and all political subdivisions in accomplishing the responsibilities designated by state and federal law and regulation with regard to transportation planning and programming for the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

The TAB is a 34-member body composed of elected officials, representatives of government agencies involved in transportation issues, citizen members, and members who represent public transit, the freight industry and non-motorized transportation. The Metropolitan Council appoints 12 members – eight citizen members, two members representing public transit, one member representing non-motorized transportation, and one member of the Metropolitan Council. In addition, the Council is responsible for appointing the TAB Chair from among the advisory body membership. TAB members serve staggered two-year terms.

#### Rationale

Seven Transportation Advisory Board positions are up for reappointment due to term expirations including four representatives from Council geographic districts A through D, two transit representatives, and one nonmotorized representative.

Council Member Deb Barber, Council Member Reva Chamblis, and Council Member Molly Cummings served on the nominating committee which hosted interviews on January 27. Twenty-six applications were received for all seven positions. Following the interviews, the committee reviewed the application materials and interview notes, and made appointment



recommendations for Chair Zelle's consideration. The Chair's final recommendations are as noted above.

If appointed, the district A through D, Transit, and nonmotorized appointees will complete terms ending January 2022.

## **Thrive Lens Analysis**

Appointing members to TAB is necessary to keep the committee functioning. TAB work advances all five Thrive Outcomes through shaping regional and state transportation plans.

## Funding

N/A

# **Known Support / Opposition**

N/A