Metropolitan Council



# For the Metropolitan Council: May 10, 2023

### Business Item: 2023-108

Appointments to 2050 Transportation Policy Plan Advisory Work Group

District(s), Member(s):	All
Policy/Legal Reference:	Council Bylaws, 2040 Transportation Policy Plan, and Public Engagement Plan
Staff Prepared/Presented:	Charles Carlson, Executive Director MTS, 651-602-1761
	Amy Vennewitz, Deputy Director MTS, 651-602-1058
	Cole Hiniker, Multimodal Planning Senior Manager, 651-602-1748
Division/Department:	Metropolitan Transportation Services (MTS)

#### **Proposed Action**

That the Met Council approve Chair Zelle's recommendation to appoint the following Metropolitan Council members to serve on the 2050 Transportation Policy Plan (TPP) Advisory Work Group: Diego Morales and Susan Vento.

#### Background

Under federal transportation planning law, the Met Council is required to develop a long-range transportation plan that is updated at least every five years. Known in our region as the Transportation Policy Plan (TPP), the plan must be multimodal and identify transportation system goals and investment priorities over at least a 20-year period. The plan is required to identify regionally significant transportation investments that will be implemented within the timeframe of the plan and must maintain fiscal balance between anticipated project costs and projected available funding.

The 2050 TPP will be a major update as part of the decennial development of the region's development guide and will include the consideration of new policy directions. The Met Council created the 2050 TPP Advisory Work Group in 2022 to:

- review elements of the plan as they are developed,
- provide guidance to Council staff on how to proceed on issues that are policy in nature,
- give guidance to technical staff from partner agencies who are reviewing the plan, and
- identify issues that should be brought forward to the Met Council, its standing committees, and the Transportation Advisory Board for broader discussion.

The Advisory Work Group is advisory only and has no decision-making authority. It consists of four (4) Met Council members, nine (9) Transportation Advisory Board members, and five (5) agency or organization members. The agencies and organizations represented are:

- Metro Transit,
- the Minnesota Council on Disability,

- the Minnesota Department of Transportation,
- the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, and
- the Suburban Transit Association.

The Advisory Work Group is chaired by Council Member Deb Barber, and Council Member John Pacheco, Jr., is also a member. There are currently two vacancies, one created with the departure of former Council Member Francisco Gonzalez and another vacant since Advisory Work Group creation.

Except for the appointment of Met Council members, MTS staff (in consultation with the Council Chair, Regional Administrator, and Transportation Advisory Board Chair) designate members from the list above to serve as Advisory Work Group members and fill any vacancies that may occur. The Advisory Work Group will expire when the Council adopts the 2050 TPP.

## Rationale

The development of the 2050 TPP requires consideration of new or revised policy direction through policymaker engagement. The Advisory Work Group allows collaborative discussion between the Met Council, Transportation Advisory Board, and other important stakeholders in a dedicated meeting that would otherwise be ineffective to accommodate in larger meetings.

## **Thrive Lens Analysis**

The 2040 Transportation Policy Plan supports the Thrive outcomes of Stewardship, Sustainability, Equity, Prosperity, and Livability though its goals, objectives, and strategies. The Advisory Work Group reflects the Council's commitment to principles of collaboration and accountability.

## Funding

The Advisory Work Group is staffed and supported within the existing MTS budget through 2024.