Metropolitan Council

Business Item

Metropolitan Council



Committee meeting date: April 9, 2025 For the Metropolitan Council: April 9, 2025

Business Item: 2025-104

Appointments to the Land Use Advisory Committee

District(s), member(s): All

Policy/legal reference: MN Statutes 473.127 and 473.853

Staff prepared/presented: Charles A. Zelle, Chair, 651-602-1390

Division/department: Regional Administration, Chair's Office

Proposed action

That the Metropolitan Council approve the following appointments to the Land Use Advisory Committee (LUAC):

District 1: Tom McKee, Mayor of Corcoran

District 2: Lona Doolan, St. Anthony City Council

District 3: Erik Anderson

District 4 (Carver): Gerald Bruner, Town Board Supervisor of Watertown Township

District 4 (Scott): Kathy Hofer Mocol

District 5: Shawn Hayford Oleary, Richfield City Council

District 6: Robert Glisky

District 7: Gunnar Carlson

District 8: Noah Keller **District 9:** Beketa Jilo

District 10: Dan Roe, Mayor of Roseville

District 11: Kristin Libby, Scandia City Council

District 12: William Droste, Dakota County Commissioner

District 13: Mai Chong Xiong, Ramsey County Commissioner

District 14: VACANT **District 15:** VACANT

District 16: Daniel Wolter, Lakeville City Council

Background

The Land Use Advisory Committee (LUAC) was established by the Metropolitan Council under MN Statutes 473.127 and 473.853. The committee's purpose is to assist the Council in regional land use planning and undertake other responsibilities as delegated by the Council or required by law.

The committee's advisory duties include giving advice and assistance on metropolitan land use, comprehensive planning, and matters of metropolitan significance.

The LUAC membership consists of at least 16 members plus a chair. As required by state statute, membership shall include at least one member from each Council district and provide representation from each metropolitan county. Because both Scott and Carver counties are located within Council District 4, two members are needed from the district. At least half of the members must be elected officials of local governmental units. Members serve the same period as the term of their appointed Council member.

Rationale

All Land Use Advisory Committee member terms expired in January 2023. Since then, the Council has made ongoing efforts to recruit qualified members for all openings. Council Member Diego Morales was appointed as the Chair of the Land Use Committee as of March 2025. The nominating committee consisted of current LUAC Chair and Council Member Diego Morales and former LUAC Chair and Council Member Wendy Wulff. This nominating committee conducted interviews of candidates between March 17th and April 4th.

With the recommendations in this memo, the committee will have nine elected officials as members and six non-elected members. Openings remains in Districts 14 and 15.

Thrive lens analysis

On Feb. 12, 2025, the Council adopted Imagine 2050, which builds on policy direction in Thrive MSP 2040. While appointing members to LUAC is necessary to keep the committee functioning, under the Thrive lens, LUAC work advances all five regional goals in Imagine 2050 through shaping regional land use policy and assisting with the comprehensive planning process.