Metropolitan Council

Business Item

Metropolitan Council



Meeting date: July 9, 2025

Business Item: 2025-59

District(s), member(s): All

Policy/legal reference: Metropolitan Council Bylaws

Staff prepared/presented: Charles A. Zelle, Chair, 651-602-1390

Division/department: Regional Administration, Chair's Office

Proposed Action

1. That the Metropolitan Council approve and make effective on Thursday, July 10, 2025, the following standing committee assignments recommended by the Chair, pursuant to Council Bylaws, Article III.

Community Development	Environment	Management	Transportation
Lilligren, Chair	Cederberg, Chair	Johnson, Chair	Barber, Chair
Carter, Toni, Vice Chair	Wulff, Vice Chair	Pacheco, Vice Chair	Chamblis, Vice Chair
Cameron	Carter, Tyronne	Barber	Carter, Toni
Chamblis	Lee	Cederberg	Carter, Tyronne
Lee	Lindstrom	Lilligren	Cameron
Lindstrom	Morales	Osman	Johnson
Morales	Jenkins	Jenkins	Osman
Wulff			Pacheco
Obisakin			Obisakin

- 2. That the Metropolitan Council approve Reva Chamblis as Vice Chair of the Council, pursuant to Council Bylaws, Article I.
- 3. That the Metropolitan Council approve and make effective on, Thursday, July 10, 2025, the following special and advisory committees, commissions, and boards assignments, as recommended by the Chair and pursuant to Council Bylaws, Article III.
- 1. Age-Friendly Minnesota Council: Cameron
- 2. Audit: Lee (Chair), Barber (Vice Chair), Jenkins, Obisakin
- 3. Clean Water Council: Cederberg
- 4. Environmental Quality Board: Lindstrom, Tyronne Carter (Alternate)
- 5. Equity Advisory Committee: Pacheco (Chair), Toni Carter, Tyronne Carter, Osman
- 6. Hennepin County Community Works Bottineau Steering Committee: Chamblis, Osman (Alternate)

- 7. Investment Review Committee: Morales (Chair), Lee
- 8. Land Use Advisory Committee: Morales (Chair)
- 9. METRO Blue Line Extension Corridor Management Committee: Zelle (Chair), Chamblis, Cameron, Osman (Alternate)
- 10. METRO Blue Line Extension Project Development Board: Zelle (Chair), Chamblis, Cameron (Alternate)
- 11. METRO Green Line Extension Corridor Management Committee: Zelle (Chair), Tyronne Carter, Lilligren, Cameron (Alternate)
- 12. METRO Green Line Extension Executive Change Control Board: Zelle, Barber, Lilligren (Alternate)
- 13. METRO Gold Line Executive Change Control Board: Zelle (Chair), Lee, Jenkins (Alternate)
- 14. METRO Purple Line Corridor Management Committee: Zelle (Chair), Lee, Lindstrom (Alternate), Cederberg (Alternate)
- 15. Metropolitan Airports Commission: Cameron, Morales (Alternate)
- 16. Metropolitan Area Water Supply Advisory Committee: Wulff (Chair)
- 17. Metropolitan Parks and Open Space Commission: Wulff
- 18. Minnesota Council on Disability: Wulff
- 19. Olmstead Sub-Cabinet: Wulff
- 20. Regional Council of Mayors: Lindstrom, Johnson (Alternate)
- 21. Riverview Corridor Policy Advisory Committee: Toni Carter, Lee (Alternate)
- 22. Southwest LRT PLACES: Cameron
- 23. Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee: Cameron
- 24. Transportation Advisory Board: Barber, Chamblis (Alternate)

Background

Per Council bylaws, the Council Chair shall recommend to the Council for approval at its first regular meeting in February, or as soon thereafter as possible, the Chair, members, and responsibilities of each standing committee. The Council Chair may also recommend to the Council for its approval, the Chair, members, and duties of special committees.

Rationale

Committee member assignments are important to continuing the Council's business. Committee membership and leadership will be reviewed annually by the Chair, in accordance with Council Bylaws.

Thrive lens analysis

On February 12, 2025, the Council adopted Imagine 2050, which builds on policy direction in Thrive MSP 2040. Appointing members to Committees is necessary to ensure the work of the Council reflects our concerns and aspirations, anticipates future needs in the region, and addresses our responsibility to future generations through community development, addressing environmental issues, financial accountability, and transportation investments.

Funding

None.

Small business inclusion

None.