## **Transportation Advisory Board**

of the Metropolitan Council of the Twin Cities

## **ACTION TRANSMITTAL 2014-18**

**DATE**: February 14, 2014

**TO**: Transportation Advisory Board

**FROM**: TAB Chair Bill Hargis

**SUBJECT**: Election of TAB Executive Committee

**MOTION:** That the TAB approve the TAB Executive Committee

**BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE OF ACTION**: The TAB Bylaws state that the Board shall establish a TAB Executive Committee of seven members to advise the Board on emerging transportation issues, new opportunities and initiatives, and Board legislative roles. The Bylaws identify the TAB Chair and representatives of the MN Department of Transportation and the Metropolitan Council as members of the Executive Committee. The Bylaws identify the number of local elected officials and non-elected members shall be on the committee as follows:

- 1. one member representing the county Board members;
- 2. one member representing the Board members from the cities of the first class;
- 3. one member representing the Board members from the remaining cities; and
- 4. one member representing the citizen, modal and remaining agency Board members

At the January 15, 2014, meeting, TAB by motion selected the following to the Executive Board:

County Board: Randy Maluchnik, Carver County

Board members from the cities of the first class: Russ Stark, St. Paul Board members from the remaining cities: James Hovland, Edina

The member representing the citizen, modal and remaining agency Board members was deferred to February. The remaining candidates are:

- Jennifer Janovy, Citizen of Edina
- Robert Lilligren, Transit

At the January 30, 2014, TAB Executive Committee by consensus selected Russ Stark as First Vice-Chair and James Hovland as Second-Vice Chair.