## ACTION TRANSMITTAL 2021-01

DATE: January 1, 2021

**TO:** Transportation Advisory Board

**FROM:** TAB Chair James Hovland

**SUBJECT:** Election of TAB Executive Committee

**MOTION:** That the TAB approve the TAB Executive Committee

**BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE OF ACTION**: The TAB Bylaws state that the Board shall establish a TAB Executive Committee of nine members to advise the Board on emerging transportation issues, new opportunities and initiatives, and Board legislative roles. The Bylaws identify the TAB Chair and representatives of the MN Department of Transportation and the Metropolitan Council as members of the Executive Committee, currently:

- 1. TAB Chair James Hovland, MC-Edina
- 2. MnDOT Michael Barnes
- 3. Metropolitan Council Deb Barber, District 4

The Bylaws identify the number of local elected officials and non-elected members shall be on the committee as follows:

- 4. two members representing the county Board members;
- 5. one member representing the Board members from the cities of the first class;
- 6. two members representing the Board members from the remaining cities;
- 7. one member representing the citizen Board members; and
- 8. one member representing the modal and remaining agency Board members

The following candidates submitted interest in serving on the Executive Committee:

County Board members (2)

- Debbie Goettel, Hennepin County
- Stan Karwoski, Washington County

Board members from the cities of the first class (1)

• Kevin Reich, Minneapolis

Board members from the remaining cities (2)

- Mark Windschitl, Chaska
- Gary Hansen, Eagan
- Mark Steffenson, Maple Grove

Member representing the citizen Board members (1)

- Peter Dugan, Citizen member, TAB District H (Council Districts 15 & 16)
- Christopher Geisler, Citizen member, TAB District E (Council Districts 9 & 10)

## Member representing the modal and remaining agency Board members (1)

• Mat Hollinshead, Transit Representative