# **Minutes**

**Transportation Advisory Board** 



Meeting Date: January 18, 2023 Time: 12:30 PM Location: 390 Robert Steet

#### **Members Present:**

Chair, James Hovland V. Chair Debbie Goettel

Doug Anderson Myron Bailey <del>Deb Barber</del>

Michael Barnes (Sheila Kauppi)

Carl Crimmins
Peter Dugan
Amity Foster
Christopher Geisler

Gary Hansen Mary Liz Holberg Mathews Hollinshead

Mitra Jalali Julie Jeppson Stan Karwoski Emily Koski

Andy Lewis (Husniyah Bradley)

William Lindeke

Randy Maluchnik (John Morast)

Brian Martinson Trista MatasCastillo

Craig McDonnell (Todd Biewen)

George Schember

Mark Steffenson

Jon Ulrich

Jeffery Weisensel

Janet Williams (Bob Coughlen)

Mark Windschitl (Mike Huang)

#### **Absent**

#### Staff

Elaine Koutsoukos, TAB Jenifer Hager, TAC Charles Carlson, MTS Director

# **Call to Order**

A quorum being present, Committee Chair Hovland called the regular meeting of the January 18, 2023, Transportation Advisory Board to order at 12:35 p.m.

# **Agenda Approved**

It was moved by Anderson, seconded by Bailey to approve the agenda. Committee members did not have any comments or changes to the agenda. **Motion carried**.

# **Reports**

TAB Chair's Report - Debbie Goettel

Vice-Chair Goettel welcomed new TAB members and alternates

- 1. Anoka County Julie Jeppson, Matt Look is the alternate
- 2. Carver County John Fahey, alternate
- 3. Dakota County Bill Droste, alternate
- 4. Washington County Karla Bigham, alternate

Metro Cities will be replacing the open position for Julie Jeppson as city representative. Met Council appointments will be made early February. The new TAC Chair for 2023-2024 is Jenifer Hager from the City of Minneapolis.

Agency Reports - MnDOT, MPCA, MAC, and Metropolitan Council

#### **MnDOT**

Sheila Kauppi on behalf of Mike Barnes, reported: snow cleanup, legislative update, traffic fatalities are the same as 2022 which indicates a trend in the wrong direction. A consultant has been hired to oversee IIJA funds.

#### **MPCA**

Biewen reported that there is a new Assistant Commissioner for Air and Climate, Frank Kohlasch. Biewen added that there is funding available for level II charging to try to reduce emissions.

## MAC

Bridget Rief gave a refresher presentation on the MAC Airport System.

Metropolitan Council

Charles Carlson on behalf of Deb Barber reported that Chair Zelle has been reappointed as Chair of the Met Council and the nominating committee members have been nominated as well. March should see the new Met Council composition. TAB Chair and Council-appointed positions will be appointed in the spring. Holberg asked about the impact of redistricting. Carlson said the redistricting will take place after the nominations.

#### STA

Hansen reported that the STPs are seeing growth across the board and on-demand service continues to grow.

TAC Report – Jenifer Hager, TAC Chair

Hager introduced herself as the new TAC Chair. Hager reported that the TAC subcommittee chair positions have been filled.

# **Approval of Minutes**

It was moved by Anderson, seconded by Dugan to approve the minutes of the November 16, 2022 regular meeting of the Transportation Advisory Board. **Motion carried**.

#### **Consent Business**

Consent Business Adopted

2023-03: Streamlined 2023-2026 TIP Amendment - SouthWest Transit Bus Purchase

**2023-04:** Streamlined 2023-2026 TIP Amendment – Three 2022 Regional Solicitation Projects

**2023-05:** Streamlined 2023-2026 TIP Amendment – Minneapolis Broadway Street Intersections

**2023-06:** Streamlined 2023-2026 TIP Amendment – Washington County Central Greenway Regional Trail Trailhead

It was moved by Jeppson, seconded by Geisler.

Holberg asked about program year designation. Peterson said applicants were asked what projects could take earlier years.

Motion carried.

## **Non-Consent Business**

**2023-01**: 2023 TAB Executive Committee (*Elaine Koutsoukos, TAB Coordinator*)

Members discussed the makeup and format of the TAB Executive Committee. The following slate was forwarded for vote:

- 1. two members representing the county Board members Trista MatasCastillo, Ramsey County, and Mary Liz Holberg, Dakota County;
- 2. one member representing the Board members from the cities of the first class Mitra Jilali;
- 3. two members representing the Board members from the remaining cities Mark Windschitl and Mark Steffenson:
- 4. one member representing the citizen Board members Chris Geisler; and
- 5. one member representing the modal and remaining agency Board members Brian Martinson

Other TAB Executive Committee members include:

- 6. the Board Chair, currently Jim Hovland
- 7. the Member representing the Minnesota Department of Transportation, currently Michael Barnes
- 8. the Member representing the Metropolitan Council, currently Deb Barber

It was moved by Anderson, seconded by Martinson, that the Transportation Advisory Board approve the Executive Committee.

Motion carried.

**2022-48**: Metropolitan Airports Commission 2023-2029 Capital Improvement Program (*Jenifer Hager, TAC Chair*)

It was moved by Crimmins, seconded by Holberg, that the TAB recommend acceptance of the staff analysis of MAC's 2023-2029 CIP and forward these comments to the Metropolitan Council for its consideration.

Martinson asked about money allocated for air quality improvement. Holberg asked about the proposed Air Lake project. Geisler asked about energy efficient projects.

Motion carried.

2023-02: Adoption of 2023 Safety Performance Targets (Jenifer Hager, TAC Chair)

It was moved by Anderson, seconded by Dugan, that the Transportation Advisory Board recommend that the Metropolitan Council adopt the 2023 safety performance targets in Table 1.

MatasCastillo asked for a breakout of mitigation suggestions. Koski commented on the need to change trendlines. Geisler brought up the safety category found in the Regional Solicitation project selection process. Karwoski asked for follow-up data to include repetitive locations.

Motion carried.

## Information

Congestion Management Process: Twin Cities Congestion Analysis Handbook (*David Burns, MTS, and Tim Burkhardt, Alliant Engineering*)

Geisler asked about the consideration of freight, MatasCastillo asked about land use. Martinson brought up the impact of congestion. Holberg asked about the flexibility of the tool.

Regional Development Guide (Charles Carlson, MTS, and Lisa Barajas, Community Development)

Bradley asked about the equity group input.

#### Items of TAB members

Add recap of discussion.

#### Other Business

Add recap of discussion.

# **Adjournment**

Business completed; the meeting adjourned at 2:35 p.m.

# **Council Contact:**

Jenna Ernst, Recording Secretary Jenna.Ernst@metc.state.mn.us