# **Action Transmittal**

**Transportation Advisory Board** 



Meeting Date: January 18, 2023

Date: January 11, 2023

## Action Transmittal: 2023-01

Election of the TAB Executive Committee

To: Transportation Advisory Board

From: TAB Chair James Hovland

Prepared By: Elaine Koutsoukos, TAB Coordinator, 651-602-1717

#### **Requested Action**

That the Transportation Advisory Board approve membership on the TAB Executive Committee for 2023.

#### **Recommended Motion**

That the Transportation Advisory Board approve the Executive Committee

#### Summary

Term on the Executive Committee is a one-year term selected in January by the full Board. The TAB Executive Committee meets bi-monthly in even months before the TAB meeting. The following candidates submitted interest in serving on the Executive Committee for 2023:

County Board members (2)

- Debbie Goettel, Hennepin County
- Trista MatasCastillo, Ramsey County
- Jon Ulrich, Scott County
- Mary Liz Holberg, Dakota County

Board members from the cities of the first class (1)

•

Board members from the remaining cities (2)

- Mark Windschitl, Chaska
- Mark Steffenson, Maple Grove

Member representing the citizen Board members (1)

- Chris Geisler
- Randy Maluchnik
- Peter Dugan

Member representing the modal and remaining agency Board members (1)

Brian Martinson

### **Background and Purpose**

The TAB Bylaws state that the Board shall establish an Executive Committee to advise the Board on emerging transportation issues, new opportunities and initiatives, and Board legislative roles. The committee shall be composed of ten Board members as follows:

- 1. the Board Chair
- 2. the Member representing the Minnesota Department of Transportation
- 3. the Member representing the Metropolitan Council
- 4. two members representing the county Board members;
- 5. one member representing the Board members from the cities of the first class;
- 6. two members representing the Board members from the remaining cities;
- 7. one member representing the citizen Board members; and
- 8. one member representing the modal and remaining agency Board members

The Board Chair and Metropolitan Council representatives are appointed by the Council. The Board Chair shall serve as the Chair of the Executive Committee. The TAC Chair, TAB Coordinator and MTS Director shall serve as ex-officio, non-voting members of the Executive Committee.

Term on the Executive Committee is a one-year term selected in January by the full Board. The TAB Executive Committee meets bi-monthly in even months before the TAB meeting.

In the past when there have been more volunteers for positions than positions available, TAB members have selected the TAB Executive Committee membership by balloting or TAB members have held discussions prior to the

## Routing

То	Action Regulasted	Date Completed / ( <i>Scheduled</i> )
Transportation Advisory Board	Review & Recommend	January 18, 2023