<u>Metropolitan Council</u> Metro Transit Heywood Chambers, 560 Sixth Avenue North, Minneapolis MN 55411 Special Meeting of the Transportation Committee Monday, December 17, 2012

Members Present	Steve Elkins, Chair Lona Schreiber, Vice Chair John Đoàn	Jon Commers Roxanne Smith Adam Duininck	Edward Reynoso Jennifer Munt James Brimeyer
Members Absent	none absent		
Staff Presiding	Brian Lamb, General Manager Metro Transit	Arlene McCarthy, Director Metropolitan Transportation Services	
TAB Liaison	Robert Lilligren		

CALL TO ORDER

A quorum was present when Committee Chair Elkins called the special meeting of the Transportation Committee to order at 4:00 p.m. on December 17, 2012, at Metropolitan Council Chambers, St. Paul.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

A motion was made by Schreiber, seconded by Reynoso to approve the agenda for the December 17, 2012 Transportation Committee meeting. Motion carried.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion was made by Reynoso, seconded by Schreiber to approve the minutes from the December 10, 2012 Transportation Committee meeting. Motion carried.

METRO TRANSIT GENERAL MANAGER REPORT

Brian Lamb, General Manager, Metro Transit, reported the following: Toys for Tots Partnership <u>Featured on Northstar</u>

Metro Transit teamed up with BNSF and Toys for Tots and offered a free roundtrip ride at a later date for Northstar customers last Friday, December 14th, and Saturday, December 15th, in exchange for a new, unwrapped toy donation. Over 1,015 donations for Toys for Tots were received over the 2-day period. The special-event train for Northstar customers for the Holidazzle parade were greeted at Target Field by BNSF employees and the U.S. Marines.

METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION SERVICES DIRECTOR REPORT

In the interest of time, Arlene McCarthy, MTS Director, did not present a report at this Special Transportation Committee meeting.

BUSINESS

Business Items 2012-391 SW and 2012-392 SW were presented together with separate actions taken after the presentation and questions. Metro Transit Deputy General Manager Mark Fuhrmann gave a background of actions taken and objectives laid out by the Council in July 2012. Fuhrmann introduced SWLRT Project Director Chris Weyer (East project) and SWLRT Director of Design and Engineering Jim Alexander (West project). Committee members discussed the results of the bids - coming in less than the independent estimate, differences in the teams proposed by the consultants from earlier in the year. Munt asked what deliverables will be required for the freight location (east contract) and Fuhrmann said the consultant will be looking at co-location and relocation. At Brimeyer's request, Fuhrmann explained the Municipal Consent process. Doàn requested a breakdown of the items included in the \$93M contracts and Fuhrmann said this will be provided prior to the 12/19/12 Council meeting.

Actions were then taken on the business items:

2012-391 SW: Southwest Light Rail Transit Project (Green Line Extension): Award Professional Preliminary Engineering Consultant Contract for the SWLRT – Hopkins, St. Louis Park and Minneapolis Motion by Brimeyer, seconded by Reynoso:

That the Metropolitan Council authorize the Regional Administrator to:

• Negotiate and execute a professional services contract with Kimley-Horn & Associates for Preliminary Engineering Consultant services for the eastern portion of the Southwest Light Rail Transit (SWLRT) Project in an amount not to exceed \$16,788,349.

Motion passed unanimously.

2012-392 SW: Southwest Light Rail Transit Project (Green Line Extension): Award Professional Preliminary Engineering Consultant Contract for the SWLRT – Eden Prairie and Minnetonka Motion by Munt, seconded by Đoàn:

That the Metropolitan Council authorize the Regional Administrator to:

• Negotiate and execute a professional services contract with AECOM for Preliminary Engineering Consultant services for the western portion of the Southwest Light Rail Transit (SWLRT) Project in an amount not to exceed \$16,787,963.

Motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Elkins adjourned the Transportation Committee meeting at 4:30 p.m. December 17, 2012.

Respectfully submitted, LuAnne Major, Recording Secretary