Transportation Committee

Meeting date: August 24, 2020

Subject: Regional Solicitation Scoring Process Update

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: Minn. Stat. §§ 473.3997; 473.3999

Staff Prepared/Presented: Elaine Koutsoukos, TAB Coordinator (651-602-1717)

Division/Department: Transportation Advisory Board

The 11 Regional Solicitation categories received 132 applications (as shown the attached summary). Eight Scoring Committees were set up to score the applications. Each Scoring Committee initially met in late June to review the application measures and scoring guidance. Scorers reviewed scored measures during July and submitted measure scores. For measurers that were similar across applications, scorers consulted with each other to make sure the same methodology was applied in scoring. The Scoring Committees met a second time from late July to early August to review the submitted scores and answer questions that scorers had.

The scoring effort involved 72 scorers, representing 24 entities. The extensive time and dedication of the scorers, beyond their regular work assignments, is greatly appreciated in providing a regional effort for scoring the Regional Solicitation applications. Below is a list of scorers, and the organization they work for, that we extend our thanks to.

Anoka County	Jerry Auge	Jack Forslund	Joe MacPherson	
Blaine	Jon Haukaas			
Bloomington	Karl Keel			
Carver County	Dan McCormick	Lyndon Robjent	Angie Stenson	
Coon Rapids	Mark Hansen			
Dakota County	Gina Mitteco	Jacob Rezac	John Sass	
Eden Prairie	Robert Ellis			
Fridley	Jim Kosluchar			
Hennepin County	Chad Ellos	Jason Gottfried	Ashley Hartle	
	Jordan Kocak	Jason Pieper		
Maple Grove	Ken Ashfeld			
Minneapolis	Jenifer Hager	Luke Hanson	Mike Samuelson	
MnDOT	Colleen Brown	Mike Corbett	Kelly Corbin	
	Dave Cowan	Lars Impola	Gloria Jeff	
	Curt Kobilarcsik	Molly McCartney	Sara Pflaum	
	Shaker Rabban	Jake Rueter	Philip Schaffner	
	Fay Simer	Mackenzie Turner Bargen	Jennifer Wiltgen	
MPCA	Innocent Eyoh	Mehjabeen Rahman		



MN Valley Transit	Ben Picone		
Plymouth	Michael Thompson		
Ramsey County	Luke Lortie	Scott Yonke	
Rosemount	Kim Lindquist		
Scott County	Nathan Abney	Craig Jenson	
Southwest Transit	Matt Fyten		
St. Paul	Don Pflaum	Anne Weber	
The Alliance	JooHee Pomplun		
Three Rivers Park Dist.	Danny McCullough		
Washington County	Mitch Bartelt	Emily Jorgensen	
Met Council -	Sara Maaske		
Communications			
Met Council - Community	Ashleigh Johnson	Hilary Lovelace	Amanda Lovelee
Development			
	Dan Marckel		
Met Council - Metro	Steve Mahowald		
Transit			
Met Council - MTS	Joe Barbeau	Dave Burns	Jonathan Ehrlich
	Steve Elmer	Tony Fischer	Jed Hanson
	Anqi Li	Russ Owen	Daniel Pena
	Heidi Schallberg	Amy Vennewitz	Rachel Wiken

The draft scores will be presented to the TAC Funding & Programming Committee on August 20. The scores were also sent to the applicants to review. Applicants will review their scores and may submit an appeal, by August 31, for a measure that may have been scored in error. Metropolitan Council staff will review appeals with the scorers. The appeals will be presented to the TAC Funding & Programming Committee on September 17 and voted on to finalize scores. The final scores will be used to develop funding scenarios.

2020 Application Summary

Application	# of Apps	Federal	Local	Total	Total Federal
Roadway Exp	18	\$136,647,573	\$137,127,038	\$273,774,611	
Roadway Mod	17	\$94,380,592	\$53,023,043	\$147,403,635	
Spot Mobility	10	\$24,097,023	\$14,138,427	\$38,235,450	
Traffic Mgmt Tech	5	\$11,616,885	\$2,904,221	\$14,521,106	
Bridge	7	\$33,411,765	\$80,104,770	\$113,516,535	\$301,533,838
Trails	38	\$86,952,429	\$27,857,684	\$114,810,113	
Pedestrian	8	\$5,907,040	\$5,961,760	\$11,868,800	
Safe Routes	6	\$4,113,343	\$1,769,336	\$5,882,679	\$96,972,812
Transit Exp	10	\$34,288,421	\$14,993,052	\$49,281,473	
Transit Mod	9	\$29,389,920	\$9,097,480	\$38,487,400	\$63,678,341
	128	\$460,804,990	\$346,976,810	\$807,781,801	
TDM	4	\$1,315,044	\$389,083	\$1,704,127	\$1,315,044
Total	132	\$462,120,034	\$347,365,893	\$809,485,928	\$462,120,034

Note: The list table does not include the ABRT project up to \$25 million federal.

2020 Application Comparison to 2018

2020	2018
Total Applications – 132	Total Applications – 137 (includes 3 unique)
Individual Applicants – 41	Individual Applicants – 43
Counties – 7	Counties – 7
Cities – 26	Cities – 23
Park District – 1	Park District – 1
Transit Providers – 3	Transit Providers – 3
Non-profit – 4	Non-profit – 7
	State of MN – 1
	Metropolitan Council - 1

Next Steps

June 18	TAC Funding & Programming vote on qualification
June 25 – Aug 3	Scoring Committees meet
Aug 20	TAC Funding & Programming approves scores for release
September 16	TAC Funding & Programming reviews scoring appeals and finalizes scores
December	TAB awards projects