Business Item

Transportation Committee



Committee Meeting Date: Nov 25, 2024 For the Metropolitan Council: Dec 11, 2024

Business Item: 2024-339

Adoption of Transportation Planning Area Boundary

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA)

Staff Prepared/Presented: David Burns, Planning Analyst, 651-602-1887

Division/Department: Metropolitan Transportation Services (MTS)

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council adopt the Metropolitan Transportation Planning Area Boundary.

Background

After each decennial U.S. Census, all Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs) are required to examine the defined urban area and coordinate with local partners to establish both a smoothed urban area boundary and a Metropolitan Planning Area Boundary. The smoothed urban area boundary must include the contiguous area identified by the U.S. Census Bureau as meeting the definition of being urban, while the Metropolitan Planning Area Boundary expands beyond this to include areas expected to become urbanized within the next 20 year and additional areas the MPO determines should be included in its planning activities. The smoothed urban area boundary was adopted by the Council on September 13, 2023. This action is to adopt the Metropolitan Planning Area Boundary, which identifies the areas included in the MPO's transportation planning activities.

Per Minnesota Statute 473.121 (2), which defines the Council's planning jurisdiction to include the seven metropolitan counties, the Council's Metropolitan Transportation Planning Area Boundary must include Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott and Washington counties. Additionally, as defined by the 2020 census, the urban area boundary also includes a small portion of Wright and Sherburne counties, which must also be included within the Metropolitan Transportation Planning Area Boundary. After discussion with officials representing Wright and Sherburne counties, it was determined that the planning area will be contiguous with the defined urban areas within these counties.

Therefore, the proposed Metropolitan Transportation Planning Area Boundary as shown on the attached map, in large part consists of the seven metropolitan counties boundary with the additional inclusion of the defined urban areas of Wright and Sherburne counties in the northwest area. The proposed action will codify the area shown in the attached map as the Metropolitan Transportation Planning Area Boundary.

Rationale

As the Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Twin Cities, the Council is required to identify and adopt a MPA boundary in which to conduct transportation planning processes and activities. The proposed MPA boundary is comprised of the seven-county metropolitan area established by

the governor in 1973 and the urban areas within Wright and Sherburne counties, as required by federal law.

Thrive Lens Analysis

The Metropolitan Planning Area Boundary most directly affects the Stewardship outcome, as its identification promotes orderly development and helps direct resources to the appropriate areas.

Funding

There is no funding associated with this action.

Small Business Inclusion

There are no direct impacts to small business associated with this action.