Business Item 2024-03

Metropolitan Area Water Supply Advisory Committee



Meeting Date: May 15, 2024

Topic

Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) Appointments

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: Minnesota Statute 473.1565

Staff Prepared/Presented: Greg Johnson, Principal Engineer, 651-602-1016

Division/Department: Environmental Services

Background

This memorandum includes a summary of TAC responsibilities and membership requirements in statute, the current membership including vacancies, the applications reviewed by the TAC Appointment Working Group, and the proposed action from the TAC Appointment Working Group for MAWSAC to appoint additional members to TAC.

Minnesota Statutes 473.1565, Subdivision 2a

A Metropolitan Area Water Supply Technical Advisory Committee is established to inform the policy advisory committee's work by providing scientific and engineering expertise necessary to provide the region an adequate and sustainable water supply. The technical advisory committee consists of 15 members appointed by the policy advisory committee, with the majority of members representing single-city and multicity public water supply systems in the metropolitan area and including experts in:

- (1) water resources analysis and modeling;
- (2) hydrology; and
- (3) the engineering, planning, design, and construction of water systems or water systems finance.

Current membership including vacancies

The TAC membership currently includes the following 10 technical experts:

- 1. Scott Anderson, Chair City of Bloomington
- 2. Kristin Asher City of Richfield
- 3. John Dustman Summit Envirosolutions
- 4. Robert Ellis City of Eden Prairie
- 5. Dale Folen City of Minneapolis
- 6. Elizabeth Kaufenberg MPCA
- 7. Matt Saam City of Apple Valley
- 8. Jim Stark LCC Subcommittee on Minnesota Water Policy
- 9. Jim Westerman City of Woodbury
- 10. Ray Woulo Barr Engineering

There are five vacancies.

Given the statutory requirement that the majority of TAC members must represent singlecity and multicity public water supply systems in the metropolitan area, eight members must represent these systems. Currently, only six current members represent this sector. Therefore, at least two additional members should be appointed by MAWSAC who represent single-city and multicity public water systems to provide this majority.

Applications reviewed by the TAC Appointment Working Group

Five applications from the following individuals were reviewed by the TAC Appointment Working Group consisting of Wendy Wulff, Annika Bankston, Mike Huang, Phil Klein, and Scott Anderson:

- 1. John Chikkala Environmental Engineer with MPCA
- Rich Hibbard Engineering Division Manager with St. Paul Regional Water Services
- 3. Karla Peterson Chief Engineer/Technical Advisor with MDH
- 4. Seng Thongvanh Utilities Director with the City of Savage
- 5. Tom Wesolowksi Public Works Director with the City of Shoreview

Proposed action

The TAC Appointment Working Group has determined that four of the TAC applicants meet the TAC experience and representation requirements. Three applicants represent singlecity and multicity public water supply systems in the Metropolitan Region which would provide a majority membership from this sector to comply with Minnesota Statutes 473.1565, Subdivision 2a, when combined with the current members that also represent this sector. Therefore, the TAC Appointment Working Group recommends MAWSAC to appoint Rich Hibbard, Karla Peterson, Seng Thongvanh, and Tom Wesolowski to the Technical Advisory Committee. The working group also advised having a representative from the DNR apply to TAC to possibly fill the 5th open position on TAC. Staff contacted the DNR, and they are planning to assign a qualified staff member to apply to TAC for consideration by MAWSAC at a future meeting.