Metropolitan Council

Business Item #2025-01

Metropolitan Area Water Supply Advisory Committee



Meeting Date: June 18, 2025

Topic

Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) Appointment

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: Minnesota Statute 473.1565

Staff Prepared/Presented: Greg Johnson, Principal Engineer, 651-602-1016

Division/Department: Environmental Services

Background

This memorandum includes a summary of TAC responsibilities and membership requirements in statute, the current membership including vacancies, a current application reviewed by the Chair of the TAC Appointment Working Group and the Chair of TAC, and the proposed action to appoint an additional member to TAC.

Minnesota Statutes 473.1565, Subdivision 2a

A Metropolitan Area Water Supply Technical Advisory Committee is established to inform the policy advisory committee's work by providing scientific and engineering expertise necessary to provide the region an adequate and sustainable water supply. The technical advisory committee consists of 15 members appointed by the policy advisory committee, with the majority of members representing single-city and multicity public water supply systems in the metropolitan area and including experts in:

- (1) water resources analysis and modeling;
- (2) hydrology; and
- (3) the engineering, planning, design, and construction of water systems or water systems finance.

Current membership including vacancies

The TAC membership currently includes the following 12 technical experts:

- 1. Scott Anderson, Chair City of Bloomington
- 2. Kristin Asher City of Richfield
- 3. John Dustman Summit Envirosolutions
- 4. Robert Ellis City of Eden Prairie
- 5. Dale Folen City of Minneapolis
- 6. Elizabeth Kaufenberg MPCA
- 7. Karla Peterson MDH
- 8. Matt Saam City of Apple Valley
- 9. Jim Stark LCC Subcommittee on Minnesota Water Policy
- 10. Seng Thongvangh City of Savage

- 11. Tom Wesolowski City of Shoreview
- 12. Jim Westerman City of Woodbury

There are currently three vacancies on TAC since the recent resignation of Ray Wuolo due to his pending retirement. MAWSAC has provided previous directions to hold one of the vacancies open for a potential DNR representative and the other vacancy open for a potential Tribal community representative. Ellen Considine, with the DNR, applied to TAC after previously serving on MAWSAC. An application was recently received for MAWSAC's consideration for the Tribal community representative position. EC staff recommend replacing Ray Wuolo with another experienced hydrogeologist and will be contacting potential candidates to apply for that position.

Proposed action

The Chair of the TAC Appointment Working Group has determined that the application received from Ellen Considine meets the technical expertise requirements for TAC and would provide the DNR representative that MAWSAC has previously advised to include on TAC. Therefore, the Chair of the TAC Appointment Working Group, with support from the Chair of TAC, recommends MAWSAC to appoint Ellen Considine to TAC.