Metropolitan Council appoints members to influential transportation advisory committees

Posted In: About Council, Council News, Transportation
Date: 1/11/2017

The Metropolitan Council, on Jan. 11, appointed members to two committees that advise the Council on key transportation issues.
“These committee members provide guidance and expertise on critical regional transportation decisions and investments,” said Nick Thompson, the Council’s Director of Metropolitan Transportation Services. “They make significant contributions to policy and, in the case of TAB, allocate millions of federal transportation dollars throughout the region. They are integral to the Council’s work and success.”  

Transportation Advisory Board appointments

The Council re-appointed Edina Mayor Jim Hovland to serve as chair of the Transportation Advisory Board (TAB.) The TAB helps shape regional and state transportation plans. It also solicits, reviews, and selects local transportation projects for federal funding.  Mayor Hovland has served on TAB since 2005 and as TAB chair since 2015.
The Council also appointed two new citizen members to the TAB, two re-appointments, and six alternates.
Citizen members appointed to Districts

  • Sam Villella, (Blaine); TAB District E--the northern metro

  • Rolf Parsons, (White Bear Lake); TAB District F--the northeast and east metro

  • Carrie Christensen, (Saint Paul); District G--Saint Paul and some neighboring suburbs

  • Peter Dugan, (Eagan); District H--the southeast and south metro

Alternates are:

  • Christopher Geisler, (Coon Rapids); District E

  • Mark Wagner, (Centerville); District F

  • Conor Johnson, (Saint Paul); District G

  • Nickolas Fox, (Apple Valley); District H

  • Matt Hollinshead, (Saint Paul); Transit representative

  • Matt Privratsky, (Saint Paul); representative for non-motorized transportation

Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee appointments

The Council also approved appointments to the Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee (TAAC). The TAAC advises the Council on policies related to transportation services in the region for people with disabilities.
Council appointments and re-appointments include: 

  • Kjensmo Walker, (Saint Paul); TAAC Chair

  • Sam Jasmine, (Plymouth); District A--the northwest metro

  • Christopher Bates, (Excelsior); District B--the southwest and west metro

  • Elizabeth (Lisa) Childs, (Edina); District C--suburbs just outside Minneapolis

  • Ken Rodgers, (Minneapolis); District D—Minneapolis

 Information on advisory committees and vacancies are available on the Council’s website. 


Posted In: About Council, Council News, Transportation

Tags: equity, disabilities, accessibility

Upcoming Events
  • Housing forums are April 26 and May 10

    The Governor’s Housing Task Force will be holding two regional forums in the Twin Cities to inform the development of Task Force recommendations. 

    Date: 4/26/2018
    Time: 6:00 PM
    Location: Two locations - see details.

    More Details
  • 2019 MCES Open House & Budget Workshops are May 24, June 7

    Metropolitan Council Environmental Services (MCES) will be hosting its annual open house and workshop for city officials (elected and staff) to discuss MCES’ financial structure, budget trends and capital needs. 

    Date: 5/24/2018
    Time: 9:00 AM
    Location: Two locations - see details.

    More Details