Metropolitan Council

Council Chair Adam Duininck

Council Members

Katie Rodriguez Jennifer Munt Gary Cunningham Edward Reynoso Sandy Rummel Richard Kramer Steven Chávez Lona Schreiber Steve Elkins Cara Letofsky Marie McCarthy Harry Melander Jon Commers Wendy Wulff

Deb Barber Gail Dorfman

Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, August 31, 2016 4:00PM Council Chambers

IN ATTENDANCE

Rodriguez, Schreiber, Munt, Barber, Elkins, Dorfman, Letofsky, Duininck, Reynoso, McCarthy, Rummel, Melander, Kramer, Commers, Chávez

CALL TO ORDER

A quorum being present, Chair Duininck called the meeting to order at 4:14PM.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA AND MINUTES

It was moved by Reynoso, seconded by Rummel.

It was moved by Kramer, seconded by Elkins.

BUSINESS

Mark Fuhrmann and Mary Bogie gave a presentation on the SWLRT project, including funding sources and options. Bogie explained that a Certificate of Participation (COP) is a Revenue Agreement, not debt.

2016-177 Approve Resolution 2016-24 expressing the Council's intention to issue Certificates of Participation to provide local matching funds for the Southwest Light Rail Transit Project and authorizing the Regional Administrator to enter into a memorandum of agreement with the Counties Transit Improvement Board and the Hennepin County Regional Railroad Authority that establishes equitable and proportionate standards as related to project financing.

It was moved by Schreiber, seconded by Munt.

Chávez made a motion to delete Paragraph 7(c) in its entirety and amend the final paragraph to read as follows: The reimbursement described in this Paragraph (7) shall be consistent with the intent of the Legislature and consistent with the Metropolitan Council's statutory authorities.

Seconded by Dorfman.

Chair Duininck made brief comments.

Motion carried.

Council members shared comments.

Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 5:09PM.



Certification

I hereby certify that the foregoing narrative and exhibits constitute a true and accurate record of the Metropolitan Council Special Meeting of August 31, 2016.

Approved this 14th day of September 2016.

Emily Getty Recording Secretary