Walz and Flanagan announce appointments to the Metropolitan Council

Date: Friday, March 3, 2023

Governor Tim Walz and Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan announced appointments to the Metropolitan Council’s 16 district seats. The district members each represent a geographically definedÔÇ»Metropolitan Council district. The Governor and Lieutenant Governor recently announced the reappointment of Charles Zelle as chair of the Metropolitan Council.

“I am honored to appoint these dedicated community leaders to the Metropolitan Council,” said Governor Walz. “The Council members have a diverse set of backgrounds and experiences who together will move the metropolitan area forward. I am confident the Council will work to create a positive and lasting impact for the communities it serves.”

“I’m grateful for the new and continuing leaders of the Metropolitan Council,” said Lieutenant Governor Flanagan. “This council is ready to tackle today’s challenges, deliver for Minnesotans, and continue to make the metropolitan area a great place to live, learn, and work.”

“Met Council members play important roles, not only in the governance, but in providing direct connections to stakeholders directly affected by council policies and activities,” said Met Council Chair Charles Zelle. “New and returning Council members represent a diverse and talented group, and I am thrilled to be working with them as we embrace a vibrant vision of inclusive prosperity."


Judy Johnson – Plymouth
District 1 Representative

Reva Chamblis – Brooklyn Park
District 2 Representative 

Tyronne Carter – Minnetonka
District 3 Representative 
Replacing: Christopher Ferguson 

Deb Barber – Shakopee
District 4 Representative

Anjuli Cameron – Edina
District 5 Representative
Replacing: Molly Cummings

John Pacheco Jr. – Minneapolis
District 6 Representative

Robert Lilligren – Minneapolis
District 7 Representative

Yassin Osman – Minneapolis
District 8 Representative
Replacing: Abdirahman Muse 

Diego Morales – Coon Rapids
District 9 Representative
Replacing: Raymond Zeran 

Peter Lindstrom – Falcon Heights
District 10 Representative

Susan Vento – Maplewood
District 11 Representative

Gail Cederberg – Mahtomedi
District 12 Representative
Replacing: Francisco Gonzalez 

Chai Lee – Saint Paul
District 13 Representative

Willetha (Toni) Carter – Saint Paul
District 14 Representative
Replacing: Kris Fredson 

Tenzin Dolkar – Inver Grove Heights
District 15 Representative
Replacing: Phillip Sterner

Wendy Wulff – Lakeville
District 16 Representative

Posted In: Council News

Upcoming Events