Who We Are

What We Do

Why We Matter

Council Investments in the Region

The Metropolitan Council is the regional policy-making body, planning agency, and provider of essential services for the Twin Cities metropolitan region. Our mission is to foster efficient and economic growth for a prosperous region.

Policy-making, planning, and coordination

The 17-member Metropolitan Council is a policy-making board that guides the strategic growth of the metro area. Elected officials and citizens share their expertise with the Council by serving on key advisory committees

Strategic investments & services support regional economic vitality

The Met Council provides essential services and infrastructure — Metro Transit's bus and rail system, Metro Mobility, Transit Link, wastewater treatment services, regional parks, planning, affordable housing, and more — that support communities and businesses and ensure a high quality of life for residents.

Our priorities

  • Create a financially sustainable 21st century transportation system

  • Promote housing opportunities for all

  • Invest in infrastructure that supports economic development

Our staff

Collage of Council staff photos and link to video interviews.Our staff represents a wide range of skills, knowledge, and expertise. Watch videos highlighting Council staff whose work supports transportation, wastewater treatment and water supply planning, housing, community development, planning, parks, and more.

Our history

The Met Council was created as "a regional solution for regional problems" more than 50 years ago. Learn how the Council has evolved over the years to meet the needs of a growing and changing region.

Find Your Council District Who's Mu Council Member