Wastewater & Water: Contact Us

Policy contacts

To share your opinions on water and wastewater-related issues, CONTACT YOUR COUNCIL MEMBER, an ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE MEMBERor call our Public Information line at 651.602.1500 

Wastewater & water contacts

Contact information is listed by environmental topic. If your topic is not listed, please contact general information by email or at 651.602.1269.




General MCES Information

Sewer Availability Charge (SAC) Jessica Nye 651.602.1770
Sewer and Pump Station Emergencies and Backups
(available 24 hours)
Regional Maintenance
Sewer Spill Reporting (available 24 hours) Minnesota State Duty Officer 800.422.0798
Odor Complaints (available 24 hours) Odor Response Line 651.602.4511
Sewer Planning & Construction Projects Tim O'Donnell 651.602.1269
Procurement/Purchasing/Bid Documents Miriam Lopez-Rieth 651.602.1095
General Questions/Information Tim O'Donnell 651.602.1269

Environmental Education

Tours, Speakers Britni Kesseling  

Rates and Fees

Accounts Payable/Receivable Chris Houser 651.602.1189
Finance Management Matt Gsellmeier 651.602.1802
Industrial Charges/Permit Fees Nanette Ewald 651.602.4767
Sewer Availability Charge (SAC) Jessica Nye 651.602.1770
Sewer Bills Ned Smith 651.602.1162
Sewer Flow Volume Kyle Colvin 651.602.1151

Regional Wastewater System

Air Quality Monitoring George Sprouse 651.602.8771
Biosolids Management Craig Edlund 651.602.8383
Capital Projects (Interceptors) Adam Gordon 651.602.4503
Capital Projects (Plants) Rene Heflin 651.602.1077
Chemical Disposal Tim Rothstein 651.602.4724
Chemical Right-to-Know Terry Gilchrist 651.602.1193
Compliance Terry Gilchrist 651.602.1193
Dumping/Landfill Info Terry Gilchrist 651.602.1193
Encroachments Tim Wedin
Chris Remus
GIS/Interceptor Capital Project Maps Steven Hack 651.602.1469
Groundwater/Landfill Leachate Disposal Michael Flaherty 651.602.4715
Household Hazardous Waste Ann Postera 651.602.4765
Inflow/Infiltration - Flow Information Kyle Colvin 651.602.1151
Industrial Strength Charge Nanette Ewald 651.602.4767
Industrial Waste Discharge Permits Nanette Ewald 651.602.4767
Laboratory Services Dave Fuchs 651.602.8115
Metering-Community Sanitary Sewer Pat Payne 651.602.4319
Research and Development George Sprouse 651.602.8771
Sewer and Pump Station Emergencies and Backups
(available 24 hours)
Regional Maintenance
Septage Disposal Laura Engen 651.602.4712


Interceptor Connection and Modification Permit Tim Wedin
Chris Remus
Effluent (Wastewater) Terry Gilchrist 651.602.1193
Emissions (Air) Terry Gilchrist 651.602.1193
... Solid Waste
... Hazardous Waste
Terry Gilchrist 651.602.1193

Water Resource Management

Water Resources Manager Judy Sventek 651.602.1156
Water Resources Assistant Manager Dan Henely 651.602.8085
...Lake Monitoring Brian Johnson 651.602.8743
...River Monitoring John (Jack) Barland 651.602.8341
...Streams Monitoring (click for specific streams) Casandra Champion
Scott Haire
Matt Loyas 
...WWTP Whole Effluent Toxicity (WET) Testing Tim Pattock 651.602.8084
Water Supply Planning Ali Elhassan 651.602.1066
Watershed Management Coordination Judy Sventek
Joe Mulcahy

Industrial Waste and Pollution Prevention (IWPP)

Spills or Emergencies MN State Duty Officer 651.649.5451
Short-Term Industrial Discharge Requests
- <12 months discharge requests
Tim Rothstein 651.602.4724
Long-Term Industrial Discharge Requests
- >12 months, discharge requests
- determine the IW engineer assigned to an existing MCES permit
Michael Flaherty 651.602.4715
Industrial Discharge Permit Requests
- General information for new industrial discharge   permits
Nanette Ewald 651.602.4787
Groundwater & Leachate Discharges
- Short-term and long-term discharge requests
Michael Flaherty 651.602.4715
Liquid Waste Haulers Laura Engen 651.602.4712
Industrial Sewer Availability Charge (SAC) Nanette Ewald 651.602.4767
Enforcement Issues Peter Sandberg 651.602.8222
Industrial Online Reporting System for Industrial Discharge Reports IORS Support Team 651.602.4789
General Data Requests Martina Nelson 651.602.4728
IWPP General Information Bob Nordquist 651.602.4706
IWPP Fax Number   651.602.4730

General Manager

MCES General Manager Leisa Thompson 651.602.1131