Governor Walz reappoints Zelle as Met Council Chair and announces Met Council Nominating Committee

Date: Tuesday, January 10, 2023

Portrait of Chair Zelle.Governor Tim Walz and Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan today announced the reappointment of Charlie Zelle as chair of the Metropolitan Council.

“I am honored to reappoint Chair Zelle to the Metropolitan Council,” said Governor Walz. “His deep understanding of transportation, infrastructure, and the growing needs of Minnesotans and our business community will continue to benefit the Metropolitan Council and the people it serves.”

“The Metropolitan Council provides critical infrastructure to a wide range of communities, and Chair Zelle understands the importance of bringing all voices to the table to make sure the Council is delivering for Minnesotans,” said Lieutenant Governor Flanagan.

“I am honored to be reappointed by the Walz-Flanagan Administration and look forward to continuing our deep work with public, private, and community partners to build just and equitable communities in our region,” said Chair Zelle. “I’m excited to support a region where people, business, and communities prosper today and into the future. “

Charles (“Charlie”) A. Zelle has served as chair of the Metropolitan Council since December 2019. He is chairman of Jefferson Lines and held the position of president and CEO for more than 20 years until 2012, when he was appointed Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Transportation. In that capacity, he oversaw a multi-modal state transportation agency with a $4 billion annual budget. Zelle has served as a board member of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, served on its executive committee, and was chair of its Public Transportation Council. In addition, he has served as a member of the Executive Committee of the Transportation Research Board and past president of the Mid America Association of State Transportation Officials.

Metropolitan Council Nominating Committee

Governor Walz and Lieutenant Governor Flanagan also announced the following appointments to the Metropolitan Council Nominating Committee. The 15-member nominating committee, which recommends candidates for the Metropolitan Council to the Governor, will host public meetings to accept statements from, or on behalf of, applicants for the positions. The Council Chair serves as a non-voting member of the nominating committee. Members:

  • Dave Bartholomay, Circle Pines, MN – Co-Chair of the Nominating Committee
  • Fatima Moore, St. Paul, MN – Co-Chair of the Nominating Committee
  • Mohamed Alinur, Bloomington – Member
  • Molly Cummings, Hopkins – Member
  • David Dively, Eagan – Member
  • Jim Erickson, Minneapolis – Member
  • Paul Gardner, Shoreview – Member
  • Heidi Garrido, Hopkins – Member
  • Chelsie Glaubitz, Roseville – Member
  • Adrianna Jereb, Minneapolis – Member
  • Melissa Manderschied, Saint Paul – Member
  • Sam Rockwell, Minneapolis – Member
  • Bradley Titus, Minneapolis – Member
  • Janet Williams, Savage – Member
  • Charlie Zelle, Minneapolis – Non-Voting Member

Applicant interviews

Applicants selected to be interviewed by the nominating committee will testify at one in a series of four public meetings. They will receive details on the format in advance of those meetings.

Date Council Districts Location Time
January 25 11, 12, 13, 14 Met Council office, Robert Street (Saint Paul)    6:00 p.m.
January 26 3, 4, 15, 16 Savage City Hall 6:00 p.m.
January 30 5, 6, 7, 8  Metro Transit Heywood (Minneapolis) 6:00 p.m.
January 31 1, 2, 9, 10 Blaine City Hall 6:00 p.m.

Posted In: Council News

Upcoming Events