Metro Mobility Task Force work underway

Date: Thursday, November 2, 2017

The Metro Mobility Task Force has begun examining potential ways to improve and streamline the service. Metropolitan Council operates the service, which is a federally mandated, public transit service for people with disabilities and limited mobility.

The task force, chaired by Washington County Commissioner Karla Bigham and Metropolitan Council Member Deb Barber, is meeting at least monthly. The task force has also decided to use small groups to discuss specific issues related to current operations and costs, the Metro Mobility customer experience, and the broader transit and transportation network company (such as Lyft and Uber) industry.

The 2017 Minnesota Legislature created the task force to examine and create a report on the following items:

  • A current assessment of the Metro Mobility program

  • Options for reducing program costs and improving efficiency

  • Potential service level approaches for partnerships with transportation network companies (such as Lyft and Uber) and/or taxi service providers

  • Recommendations and findings for the program


The law establishes the task force will be comprised of members representing a number of interests. The current membership is included below:

  • Metropolitan Council Member Deb Barber, representing Metro Mobility - co-chair

  • Commissioner Karla Bigham, representing Washington County – co-chair

  • Other county-appointed members

    • Commissioner Gayle Degler, representing Carver County

    • Commissioner Marion Greene, representing Hennepin County

    • Commissioner Jim McDonough, representing Ramsey County

    • Commissioner Scott Schulte, representing Anoka County

    • Commissioner Jon Ulrich, representing Scott County

    • West St. Paul City Council Member Dick Vitelli, representing Dakota County

  • Other government/non-profit/academic

    • Frank Douma, representing The Center for Transportation Studies at the University of Minnesota

    • David Fenley, representing The Minnesota Council on Disability

    • Matt Knutson, representing the Minnesota Department of Human Services

    • Stewart McMullan, Minnesota Management and Budget

    • Ken Rodgers, representing the Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee

    • Terriann Thommes, from the Hammer Residences, representing The Association of Residential Resources of Minnesota

  • Transportation network/taxi companies

    • Carla Jacobs, representing Uber

    • Steve Pint, representing Transportation Plus

    • Michael Sutton, representing 10/10 Taxi-Super Taxi

    • Jon Walker, representing Lyft

Report due February 15, 2018

The task force must submit the report on its work to the Legislature by Feb. 15, 2018.


Posted In: Communities, Council News, Planning, Transportation

Upcoming Events