Lead agencies and partners

Transit Link Logo

Metro Move is the Met Council’s newest transit option that serves any person who is on a Brain Injury (BI), Community Access for Disability Inclusion (CADI), or a Developmental Disability (DD) waiver who is traveling to any waiver-eligible destination that is authorized by a lead agency.


Metro Move meets both the state’s definition of a Special Transportation Service and Minnesota Department of Human Services requirements.

Eligible riders

People who participate in a BI, CADI, or DD waiver are eligible to ride Metro Move. They do not also need to be Metro Mobility certified.

If a person is already Metro Mobility certified and served by a BI, CADI, or a DD waiver, they are welcome to use Metro Move. Using Metro Move will not impact a rider’s access to or ability to ride Metro Mobility.

Waiver participants can choose to use both Metro Move and Metro Mobility, or they can choose to use primarily one service or the other.

Waiver-eligible destinations

Metro Move can serve waiver-eligible riders when it is “necessary for the person to gain access to: waiver services; community services, activities, and resources; and employment.”

- Minnesota Department of Human Services Community-Based Services Manual

Federal and state trip parameters

Trips that begin / end and throughout the Transit Taxing District.
  • No stand-by
  • Standing orders guaranteed


Anoka, Blaine, Centerville, Columbia Heights, Coon Rapids, Fridley, Circle Pines, Hilltop, Lexington, Lino Lakes, Spring Lake Park.


Chanhassen, the city of Chaska.


Apple Valley, Burnsville, Eagan, Inver Grove Heights, Lakeville, Lilydale, Mendota, Mendota Heights, Rosemount, South St. Paul, Sunfish Lake, West St. Paul.


Bloomington, Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Champlin, Chanhassen, Crystal, Deephaven, Eden Prairie, Edina, Excelsior, Golden Valley, Greenwood, Hopkins, Long Lake, Maple Grove, Medicine Lake, Minneapolis, Minnetonka, Minnetonka Beach, Mound, New Hope, Orono, Osseo, Plymouth, Richfield, Robbinsdale, St. Anthony, St. Louis Park, Shorewood, Spring Park, Tonka Bay, Wayzata, Woodland, the unorganized territory of Hennepin County.


All of the territory within Ramsey County.


Prior Lake, Savage, Shakopee.


Baytown, the city of Stillwater, White Bear Lake, Bayport, Birchwood, Cottage Grove, Dellwood, Lake Elmo, Landfall, Mahtomedi, Newport, Oakdale, Oak Park Heights, Pine Springs, St. Paul Park, Willernie, Woodbury.

Service days and hours

Entire communities in the Metro Move service area are uniformly served:

  • Monday to Friday, 6:00 a.m.  to 10:00 p.m.
  • Saturday and Sunday, 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.


Paid through the waiver; Fare-free boarding


First-door through first-door

Setting up and securing trips

  1. Individual makes an informed choice; internal lead agency processes are completed
  2. Lead agency submits a service authorization
  3. Metro Move collaborates on service initiation form with individual and other allies
  4. Metro Move communicates with contracted service provider to place the ride
  5. Metro Move confirms the placement with the individual and other allies and shares contracted service provider’s contact information
  6. Minor changes to the requested placement may be communicated directly to contracted service provider
  7. “Substantial” changes are communicated directly to Metro Move
  8. Trips begin
Call 651-602-1900 or email MetroMove@metc.state.mn.us to learn more about this new service.