Livable Communities Advisory Committee

The Livable Communities Advisory Committee reviews and recommends funding awards to the Metropolitan Council under the Livable Communities Demonstration Account and Transit Oriented Development grant categories. This group provides technical review. Members offer broad expertise to review complex development and redevelopment proposals against the program's criteria for projects that create more housing choice, support living wage job creation, and connect jobs, housing, and regional amenities to create a more equitable region.

The committee typically meets Thursday mornings from October through December.

There are 11 open positions on the LCAC with two-year terms for 2023-2025, beginning August 2023.
Extended priority application deadline is Friday July 14th; applications will be accepted and reviewed throughout July
See open positions and how to apply.

Apply here

 2022-23 LCAC members and affiliations



  • William Blonigan - City of Robbinsdale
Local government — Planning, economic or community development (two members)
  • Stephanie Hawkinson – City of Edina
  • Nichole Klonowski – City of Brooklyn Park
Development finance — One private finance member, one public finance member (two members)
  • Brian Doyle – Doyle Property Group
  • Bernadette Hornig – Hornig Companies
Development — Equitable development strategies, new development, redevelopment (two members)
  • Alondra Cano -  LISC
  • Kou Vang – JB Vang Real Estate Advisors
Transportation — Development relationship, transportation specialty, multimodal transportation (two members)
  • Samantha McKinney – TKDA
  • Fay Simer – MN DOT
Environment — Integration of natural and water resources in development, climate mitigation and adaptation, environmental justice (two members)
  • Matthew Ramadan – City of Minneapolis
  • Vacant
Site design — Landscape architecture, land planning specialty, urban design, public space design (two members)
  • Bruce Chamberlain – Tlal-li Collaborative
  • Aron Johnson – DJR Architecture
Community engagement — Community organizing, arts-based engagement, engagement strategy (two members)
  • Valerie Quarles – City of Wayzata
  • Mala Thao – St. Paul & Minnesota Foundation