Water Supply Technical Advisory Committee

The 2005 Minnesota State Legislature passed a measure that directs the Metropolitan Council to carry out planning activities addressing the water supply needs of the Twin Cities metropolitan area. To assist the Council in its planning activities, the legislature established a policy advisory committee, the Metropolitan Area Water Supply Advisory Committee (MAWSAC).

In 2015 the Minnesota State Legislature passed a measure to establish a Metropolitan Area Water Supply Technical (TAC) Advisory Committee to inform the MAWSAC.  MAWSAC is responsible for appointing the Water Supply Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) to provide scientific and engineering expertise to inform MAWSAC's work.

In early 2016, MAWSAC solicited applications from metropolitan area water supply experts to join the TAC. On March 23, 2016, MAWSAC confirmed the applicants recommended by the TAC selection committee.

The technical advisory committee consists of 15 members appointed by the policy advisory committee, with the majority of members representing single-city and multicity public water supply systems in the metropolitan area and including experts in:

  • Water resources analysis and modeling;
  • Hydrology;
  • Engineering, planning, design, and constructions of water systems; and
  • Water systems finance.

Technical Advisory Committee Meeting Agendas, Minutes and Supporting Documents

Minnesota Statute establishing the Metropolitan Area Water Supply Planning; Advisory Committee Minnesota Statutes, Section 473.1565

Technical Advisory Committee Members

Mark Maloney, Chair, City of Shoreview
Scott Anderson, City of Bloomington
Kristin Asher, City of Richfield
John Dustman, Summit Envirosolutions
Robert Ellis, City of Eden Prairie
Dale Folen, City of Minneapolis
G.H. Crystal Ng, University of Minnesota
Lih-in Rezania, Minnesota Department of Health
Matt Saam, City of Apple Valley
James Stark, United States Geological Survey & Legislative Water Commission
Jamie Wallerstedt, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Bruce Westby, City of Ramsey
Jim Westerman, City of Woodbury
Ray Wuolo, Barr Engineering Company
Jason Moeckel, DNR Liaison