Current Committee Vacancies

Council seeks diverse perspectives

Metro area residents who want to help shape regional policy and services are invited to apply for advisory committees to the Metropolitan Council. We rely on these committees to help develop solutions that best serve the entire region.

We seek diverse perspectives — across geography, income, age, race and ethnicity, ability and life experiences — to inform our policy-making and operations.

All application materials, will be reviewed by the advisory committee's selection panel.

The Livable Communities Advisory Committee (LCAC) reviews and recommends funding awards to the Council under the Livable Communities Demonstration Account and Transit-Oriented Development grant categories. This is a technical review group with broad expertise that reviews complex development and redevelopment proposals against the program's criteria for project that create more housing choice, support living wage job creation, and connect jobs, housing, and regional amenities to create a more equitable region. More about LCAC.

The LCAC has 15 members who are appointed by the Metropolitan Council. Fourteen of the 15 members serve in a specific area of expertise. The 15th member is the Committee Chair and does not represent a specific area of expertise.

Open seats

There are four LCAC openings with two-year terms beginning July 2022:
  • Development Finance (1)
  • Development (2)
  • Transportation (1)

Materials for applicants


The Land Use Advisory Committee (LUAC) provides advice and assistance to the Metropolitan Council on regional land use, comprehensive planning, and matters of metropolitan significance as requested by the Council. More about LUAC.

LUAC has at least 16 members and a Council Member as the chair. The committee includes at least one member from each Council District who represents geographic districts in the region. At least half of members must be locally elected officials, such as mayors or City Council members. All member terms are four years.

Open seat

  • District 7

Materials for applicants



    Katie Driscoll
    Appointments Coordinator