Metropolitan Area Water Supply Advisory Committee

The 2005 Minnesota State Legislature passed a measure that directs the Metropolitan Council to carry out planning activities addressing the water supply needs of the Twin Cities metropolitan area. To assist the Council in its planning activities, the legislature established the Metropolitan Area Water Supply Advisory Committee. The Advisory Committee, which was instrumental in the development of the Metropolitan Area Master Water Supply Plan, meets regularly to discuss plan implementation and other relevant water supply topics.

In 2017, the Committee developed a report on water supply planning activities: Water Supply Now and For the Future (PDF). This high-level summary of the region’s water supply sources, key challenges, and regional goal includes a 5-year plan for activities in four focus areas. The report was shared with Metropolitan Council, the Legislative Water Commission, and the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees and divisions with jurisdiction over environment and natural resources in February of 2017.

Advisory Committee Meeting Agendas, Minutes and Supporting Documents

State statute establishing the Metropolitan Area Water Supply Planning; Advisory Committee: Minnesota Statutes, Section 473.1565

MAWSAC is also responsible for appointing a 15-member Water Supply Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) to provide scientific and engineering expertise to inform MAWSAC's work.

Advisory Committee Members

Wendy Wulff
Committee Chair
Jeff Berg
Department of Agriculture
Sandeep Burman
Department of Health
Jeanne Daniels
Department of Natural Resources
Catherine Neuschler
Pollution Control Agency
Georg Fischer
Commissioner, Dakota County
Mark Daleiden
Commissioner, Wright County
Susan Morris
Commissioner, Isanti County
Michael Robinson
Commissioner, Chisago County
Mike Huang
City of Chaska 
Tonja West-Hafner
City of Brooklyn Park
Lisa Volbrecht
St. Cloud Public Utilities
Phil Klein
City of Hugo
Steve Schneider
St. Paul Regional Water Services
Jamie Schurbon
Anoka Conservation District, Anoka County
Kevin Watson
City of Vadnais Heights
Brad Larson
City of Savage
Glen Gerads
City of Minneapolis