Council Member Appointments Process

Council Members named

On Feb. 25, Governor Tim Walz notified the Minnesota State Senate of his intention to appoint 16 local residents to serve on the Metropolitan Council. When seated, the nominees would represent the most diverse Council in its more than 50-year-history.

Per statute, the Governor must notify the Senate of his intention to appoint five days prior to the deadline of March 4, at which time the appointment becomes official, pending confirmation by the Senate.

The new Council Members will be sworn in at a special Council Meeting on Wednesday, March 6.

Council Member District
Judy Johnson District 1
Reva Chamblis District 2
Christopher Ferguson District 3
Deb Barber District 4
Molly Cummings District 5
Lynnea Atlas-Ingebretson District 6
Robert Lilligren District 7
Abdirahman Muse District 8
Raymond Zeran District 9
Peter Lindstrom District 10
Susan Vento District 11
Francisco J. Gonzalez District 12
Chai Lee District 13
Kris Fredson District 14
Phillip Sterner District 15
Wendy Wulff District 16

Find your Metropolitan Council District

Earlier steps

The nominating committee, which was appointed by Governor Walz and Lt. Governor Flanagan, first identified five applicants from each of the districts.

The finalists had an opportunity to provide public testimony at four public meetings, which were open to the public and streamed online. At each meeting, the nominating committee interviewed several candidates for four different Council districts. See interviews from all 16 Council districts.

The nominating committee then recommended three names from each district to Gov. Walz for consideration.

More than 200 people applied to serve as a Council Member. The nominating committee, which expanded this year from seven people to 12, interviewed 79 finalists at four public meetings.

Nominating committee

The nominating committee was historically comprised of seven members who are current or formerly elected local officials, plus the Council Chair as an ex officio member. To create more seats at the table for Minnesotans to help shape his administration, Walz expanded the committee to 12, including the Chair and four additional ex officio members derived from the metropolitan community:

  • Janet Williams, Mayor of Savage, representing Scott County, Chair of the Nominating Committee

  • Dave Bartholomay, Mayor of Circle Pines, representing Anoka County

  • Randy Maluchnik, County Commissioner, representing Carver County

  • George Tourville, Mayor of Inver Grove Heights, representing Dakota County

  • Andrea Jenkins, Minneapolis City Council Vice President, representing Hennepin County

  • John Choi, County Attorney, representing Ramsey County

  • Lisa Weik, County Commissioner, representing Washington County

  • Nora Slawik, Metropolitan Council Chair, ex officio member

  • Nikki Villavicencio, Disability Rights Advocate, ex officio member

  • Pahoua Hoffman, Executive Director of the Citizens League, ex officio member

  • Dr. Joe Hobot, President and CEO of American Indian OIC, ex officio member

  • Ruby Azurdia-Lee, President of Comunidades Latinas Unidas en Servicio (CLUES), ex officio member