Council Member Appointments Process

The application period for Council Member vacancies has closed.

Next step: public meetings

Applicants selected to be interviewed will testify at one of four public meetings where the nominating committee will accept statements from, or on behalf of, applicants. They will receive details on the format in advance of those meetings.

Date Council Districts Location Time
Jan. 29 1, 2, 9, 10 Blaine City Hall  6:00 p.m.
Jan. 30 11, 12, 13, 14 Oakdale City Hall 6:00 p.m.
Feb. 12 3, 4, 15, 16 Savage City Hall 6:00 p.m.
Feb. 13 5, 6, 7, 8 Minneapolis TBD 6:00 p.m.

The committee will recommend candidates for the Metropolitan Council to Governor Tim Walz.

Walz requests the nominating committee publicly forward three candidates for each Council district by February 18, 2019 so that he can meet his statutory deadline of appointment by March 4, 2019.

Nominating committee

The nominating committee has historically been comprised of seven members who are current or formerly elected local officials, plus the Council Chair as an ex officio member. To create more seats at the table for Minnesotans to help shape his administration, Walz expanded the committee to 12, including the Chair and four additional ex officio members derived from the metropolitan community:

  • Janet Williams, Mayor of Savage, representing Scott County, Chair of the Nominating Committee

  • Dave Bartholomay, Mayor of Circle Pines, representing Anoka County

  • Randy Maluchnik, County Commissioner, representing Carver County

  • George Tourville, Mayor of Inver Grove Heights, representing Dakota County

  • Andrea Jenkins, Minneapolis City Council Vice President, representing Hennepin County

  • John Choi, County Attorney, representing Ramsey County

  • Lisa Weik, County Commissioner, representing Washington County

  • Nora Slawik, incoming Metropolitan Council Chair, ex officio member

  • Nikki Villavicencio, Disability Rights Advocate, ex officio member

  • Pahoua Hoffman, Executive Director of the Citizens League, ex officio member

  • Dr. Joe Hobot, President and CEO of American Indian OIC, ex officio member

  • Ruby Azurdia-Lee, President of Comunidades Latinas Unidas En Servico (CLUES), ex officio member