Metropolitan Area Water Supply Advisory Committee

The 2005 Minnesota Legislature passed a measure that directs the Met Council to carry out planning activities addressing the water supply needs of the Twin Cities metropolitan area. To assist the Met Council in its planning activities, the legislature established the Metropolitan Area Water Supply Advisory Committee. The advisory committee, which was instrumental in the development of the Metropolitan Area Master Water Supply Plan, meets regularly to discuss plan implementation and other relevant water supply topics.

In 2022, the committee produced and approved this guide for decision makers on how to approach priority water supply challenges in the coming years: Recommendations for Water Supply Planning in the Metro Area (PDF). It emphasizes conservation, interjurisdictional cooperation, and long-term sustainability. The report was shared with Metropolitan Council and Minnesota Legislature in February 2022.

Advisory committee members

  • Wendy Wulff, Committee Chair
  • Jeff Berg, Department of Agriculture
  • Sandeep Burman, Department of Health
  • John Gleason, Department of Natural Resources
  • Valerie Neppl, Dakota County
  • Mike Huang, City of Chaska
  • Lisa Vollbrecht, St. Cloud Public Utilities
  • Phil Klein, City of Hugo
  • Patrick Shea, St. Paul Regional Water Services
  • Jamie Schurbon, Anoka Conservation District, Anoka County
  • Kevin Watson, City of Vadnais Heights
  • Brad Larson, City of Savage
  • Annika Bankston, City of Minneapolis

MAWSAC is also responsible for appointing a 15-member Water Supply Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) to provide scientific and engineering expertise to inform MAWSAC's work.

Advisory committee meeting agendas, minutes, and supporting documents

State statute establishing the Metropolitan Area Water Supply Planning Advisory Committee: Minnesota Statutes, Section 473.1565