Water Supply Advisory Committee

The 2005 Minnesota Legislature passed a measure that directs the Met Council to carry out planning activities addressing the water supply needs of the Twin Cities metro region. To assist the Met Council in its planning activities, the legislature established the Metropolitan Area Water Supply Advisory Committee. MAWSAC played a lead role in developing the Metropolitan Area Master Water Supply Plan and continues to guide its implementation.

In 2022, the committee produced and approved a guide for decision makers on how to approach priority water supply challenges in the coming years: Recommendations for Water Supply Planning in the Metro Area (PDF). It emphasizes conservation, interjurisdictional cooperation, and long-term sustainability.

MAWSAC is also responsible for appointing a 15-member Water Supply Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) to provide scientific and engineering expertise to inform MAWSAC's work.


The committee meets regularly as needed to discuss updates on the plan implementation and discuss any other relevant water supply topics.

Metropolitan Council
390 Robert St. N.
Saint Paul, MN 55101
Map, transit, directions

Meeting Date Location Agenda, Materials & Video
10/23/2024 12:00 PM Robert Street Room 1A
12/11/2024 12:00 PM Robert Street Room 1A

  • Wendy Wulff, Metropolitan Council, Committee Chair
  • Annika Bankston, City of Minneapolis
  • Jeff Berg, Department of Agriculture
  • Todd Blomstrom, St. Paul Regional Water Services
  • Sandeep Burman, Department of Health
  • Ellen Considine, Department of Natural Resources
  • Mike Huang, City of Chaska
  • Phil Klein, City of Hugo
  • Brad Larson, City of Savage
  • Valerie Neppl, Dakota County
  • Erik Smith, Pollution Control Agency
  • Kevin Watson, City of Vadnais Heights

MAWSAC is responsible for reporting to the Met Council and Minnesota Legislature every five years. The committee’s report and recommendations include information provided by the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC). MAWSAC also routinely provides input to Council water supply-related reports and projects.

Staff contacts

Lanya Ross
Water Resources Environmental Analyst
[email protected]
Shannon Skally
Recording Secretary
[email protected]
Judy Sventek
Manager, Water Resources
[email protected]