Metro Mobility Task Force


The purpose of the Metro Mobility Task Force was to develop and submit a report to the Minnesota State Legislature by February 15, 2018.

According to the legislative language, the report must:
  • Describe the current Metro Mobility program
  • Summarize the work of the task force and its findings
  • Identify options for reducing program costs and improving efficiency
  • Identify at least three potential service level approaches that involve partnering with and incorporating transportation network companies, taxi service providers, or both
  • Provide any recommendations for program and legislative changes

Legislative Report

In accordance with the 2017 omnibus transportation bill, the Metro Mobility Task Force examined ways to improve Metro Mobility services, limit costs, and improve efficiency. The below report includes a summary of the current Metro Mobility program, four service-level approaches that include the integration of taxi services or transportation network companies, and recommendations to the Metropolitan Council and the Minnesota Legislature.
The Task Force approved the report unanimously at its final meeting held on February 7, 2018 and the report was sent to the Legislature on Wednesday, February 14, 2018.

Contact Information

Nick Thompson, Director of Metropolitan Transportation Services

Task Force members

County-Appointed members

  • Commissioner Scott Schulte, Anoka County
  • Commissioner Gayle Degler, Carver County
  • City Council Member Dick Vitelli, City of West St. Paul, Appointed by Dakota County
  • Commissioner Jim McDonough, Ramsey County
  • Commissioner Karla Bigham, Washington County
  • Commissioner Marion Greene, Hennepin County
  • Commissioner Jon Ulrich, Scott County

Other government/non-profit/academic members

  • Metropolitan Council Member Deb Barber, District 4 (Scott and Carver Counties), representing Metro Mobility
  • Ken Rodgers, Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee Representative
  • Matt Knutson, Department of Human Services
  • Stewart McMullan, Minnesota Management and Budget
  • David Fenley, Minnesota Council on Disability
  • Bob Platz, Association of Residential Resources in MN
  • Frank Douma, U of M Center for Transportation Studies

TNCs/Taxi members

  • Carla Jacobs, Uber
  • Jon Walker, Lyft
  • Steve Pint, Transportation Plus
  • Michael Sutton, 10/10 Taxi—Super Taxi, Inc.

Meeting minutes and agendas

Meeting Date Agenda, Materials & Video Minutes
2/7/2018 2/7/2018 Agenda & Materials for Metro Mobility Task Force 2/7/2018 Minutes
1/10/2018 1/10/2018 Agenda & Materials for Metro Mobility Task Force 1/10/2018 Minutes
12/13/2017 12/13/2017 Agenda & Materials for Metro Mobility Task Force 12/13/2017 Minutes
11/15/2017 11/15/2017 Agenda & Materials for Metro Mobility Task Force 11/15/2017 Minutes
10/20/2017 10/20/2017 Agenda & Materials for Metro Mobility Task Force 10/20/2017 Minutes
9/21/2017 9/21/2017 Agenda & Materials for Metro Mobility Task Force 9/21/2017 Minutes
8/23/2017 8/23/2017 Agenda & Materials for Metro Mobility Task Force