Governor's Blue Ribbon Committee

To examine the Metropolitan Council’s structure and service

In 2020, Gov. Tim Walz established a Blue Ribbon Committee (PDF) to examine the structure and services of the Metropolitan Council.

The committee examined:

Final report

Background information

Met Council structure and history

Regional governance models


Staff contact

Meeting agendas and minutes

Note: Minutes are not final until approved at the following meeting.

Show more details using the arrows to the left of each meeting title, or expand all details using the arrow in the header.
Meeting Date Agenda Minutes Video
12/7/2020 Agenda   Video
11/23/2020 Agenda   Video
11/9/2020 Agenda Minutes Video
10/26/2020 Agenda Minutes Video
10/12/2020 Agenda Minutes Video
9/28/2020 Agenda Minutes Video
9/14/2020 Agenda Minutes Video

Committee members

  • Mary Liz Holberg, Dakota County Commissioner District 6, who will serve as chair of the committee
  • Peter Bell, Director, Schafer Richardson Realty Trust
  • Patrick Born, Chair, Board of Directors of the Citizens League
  • John (Jay) Cowles, Managing Director, Lawrence Creek, LLC
  • James Hovland, Mayor, City of Edina
  • Elizabeth Kautz, Mayor, City of Burnsville
  • Douglas Loon, President, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
  • Mary Jo McGuire, Ramsey County Commissioner District 2
  • Khani Sahebjam, Chief Strategy Officer, SRF Consulting
  • George Schember, Vice President, Cargill Transportation & Logistics
  • Alene Tchourumoff, Senior Vice President for Community Development and the Center for Indian Country Development, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
  • Thomas Weaver, CEO, Achieve Services
  • Janet Williams, Mayor of Savage
  • Pahoua Yang Hoffman, Senior Vice President, Community Impact, Saint Paul and Minnesota Foundation
  • Zhirong (Jerry) Zhao, Professor and Director of the Master of Public Policy Program, University of Minnesota Humphrey School of Public Affairs