Transportation Advisory Board

The Transportation Advisory Board (TAB) is a key participant in the region's transportation planning process. This board is where state, regional and local officials, transportation providers, and community members contribute to transportation planning and recommend projects for federal funding. The board:
  • Provides a discussion forum for state, regional and local officials, transportation providers and community members.

  • Reviews and comments on regional and statewide plans and documents produced by the Council and its partners.

  • Solicits, evaluates and recommends to the Council local and regional projects to receive federal transportation funding, known as the Regional Solicitation.

  • Recommends the region's Transportation Improvement Program, which includes all regional projects that have federal transportation funds being spent over the next four years.


The Transportation Advisory Board meets the third Wednesday of each month at 12:30 p.m.

Staff contacts

Meeting materials

Note: Minutes are not final until approved at the following meeting.

Meeting Date Agenda, Materials & Video Minutes
2/20/2019 2/20/2019 Agenda & Materials for Transportation Advisory Board  
1/16/2019 1/16/2019 Agenda & Materials for Transportation Advisory Board 1/16/2019 Minutes
12/19/2018 12/19/2018 Agenda, Materials & Video for Transportation Advisory Board 12/19/2018 Minutes
11/21/2018 11/21/2018 Agenda & Materials for Transportation Advisory Board 11/21/2018 Minutes
10/17/2018 10/17/2018 Agenda & Materials for Transportation Advisory Board 10/17/2018 Minutes
9/19/2018 9/19/2018 Agenda & Materials for Transportation Advisory Board 9/19/2018 Minutes

Board members

The 34-member board is chaired by one member nominated by the body and then recommended to the Metropolitan Council. That board chair serves as the liaison between the board and the Met Council.

  • Metropolitan Council — Deb Barber (Reva Chamblis, alternate)
  • Minnesota Department of Transportation — Khani Sahebjam (Sheila Kauppi, alternate)
  • Minnesota Pollution Control Agency — Frank Kohlasch (Todd Biewen, alternate)
  • Metropolitan Airport Commission — Carl Crimmins
  • Suburban Transit Association — Eagan Council Member Gary Hansen, MVTA (Prior Lake Council Member Kevin Burkart, MVTA, alternate)

TAB Districts Map (PDF)

  • TAB District A (Council Districts 1 and 2) — Doug Anderson (Samantha McKinney, alternate)
  • TAB District B (Council Districts 3 and 4) — John Morast (vacant, alternate)
  • TAB District C (Council District 5 and 6) — Husniyah Bradley (Andrew Lewis, alternate)
  • TAB District D (Council Districts 7 and 8) — Glen Johnson (Brandon Wagenfeld, alternate)
  • TAB District E (Council Districts 9 and 10) — Christopher Geisler (Sam Villella, alternate)
  • TAB District F (Council Districts 11 and 12) — Mark Jenkins (Torin Gustafson, alternate)
  • TAB District G (Council Districts 13 and 14) — William Lindeke (Rich Holst, alternate)
  • TAB District H (Council Districts 15 and 16) — Peter Dugan (Karl Drotning, alternate)

  • Cottage Grove Mayor Myron Bailey (Council Member Justin Olsen, alternate)
  • Maple Grove Mayor Mark Steffenson (Council Member Judy Hanson, alternate)
  • St. Paul Council Member HwaJeong Kim (Council Member Saura Jost, alternate)
  • Edina Mayor James Hovland, Chair
  • Minneapolis Council Member Emily Koski (Elliott Payne, alternate)
  • Hugo Council Member Becky Petryk
  • Chaska Mayor Mark Windschitl (Council Member Mike Huang, alternate)
  • Savage Mayor Janet Williams (Council Member Bob Coughlin, alternate)
  • Blaine Council Member Jessica Robertson (Council Member Tom Newland, alternate)
  • Rosemount Mayor Jeffery Weisensel (vacant, alternate)

  • Anoka County — Julie Jeppson (Mike Gamache, alternate)
  • Carver County — Tom Workman (John Fahey, alternate)
  • Dakota County — Mary Liz Holberg (Bill Droste, alternate)
  • Ramsey County — Trista MatasCastillo (Mary Jo McGuire, alternate)
  • Hennepin County — Debbie Goettel (Kevin Anderson, alternate)
  • Scott County — Jon Ulrich (Tom Wolf, alternate)
  • Washington County — Stan Karwoski (Karla Bigham, alternate)

  • Transit — Amity Foster (Timothy Marino, alternate)
  • Transit — Christopher Vaughan (Nathan Hemann, alternate)
  • Freight (appointed by MnDOT) — George Schember
  • Non-motorized — Brian Martinson (Alexander Ask, alternate)

  • Metropolitan Council, MTS Director — Charles Carlson
  • TAB Coordinator — Elaine Koutsoukos
  • TAC Chair — Jenifer Hager


Contact a board member

Submit the following form to send a message to a specific board member.